TODAY’S FLOWERS: Sky-blue Cluster vine

Welcome to Today’s Flowers. These blues won’t get you down:) After a lull in the blooming due to being transplanted from the container to the ground, my sky-blue cluster vine/Jacquemontia pentantha is at it again. It’s growing against the wall on a bamboo trellis. It’s a fast-growing plant and it can easily grow to 40-50′ in length. The vine can produce hundreds of flowers. Looking at it, the first hundred are surely coming.

A native of tropical America, the plant from the Morning Glory family blooms most parts of the year and can tolerate full sun. The trumpet-shaped flowers with a white throat attract many pollinators and I’m going to be very busy in the coming weeks to see what kind of wildlife the plant attracts. The plant can be easily propagated from cuttings and seeds. But unlike other morning glory relatives, this vine can be trimmed and be kept under control.

To see more posts from around the world, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli- Denise- Pupo- Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to TODAY’S FLOWERS: Sky-blue Cluster vine

  1. Autumn Belle says:

    This blue flower vine is lovely. The white centre are beautifully designed and they also remind me of pretty buttons.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    I love this flower- its blue is so pleasant. I’m glad your plant is doing well.

  3. Kanak that is such a beautiful little bloomer – the colour of blue is so vivid and so refreshing looking. I once tried to grow this from seed – it’s only an annual here but it never made it past 6 inches in height before all the leaves went yellow.

  4. Oh, how splendid!! Blues to take away your blues!! I didn’t know there were different kinds of morning glories? I thought it was just the one blue plant, with no variations. i love them, we had them growing up against the side of our brick house when I was a child.

  5. pagan sphinx says:

    I love morning glories! I really those when they are totally opened up, as in the last image. What a blue!

    Ciao,
    Gina

    My Post for Today’s Flowers

  6. One says:

    Hi Kanak, Beautiful Monday blues…This is a morning glory variety that I have not seen.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Such pretty little blooms! Love the blue with white colours :-D

    Have a great week!!

  8. Susie says:

    40-50 feet? Wow! That is one big vine. That’s a real pretty blue and I like the white in the middle Kanak.

  9. Leah says:

    Beautiful cute flowers. And these are called cluster-vines? Sweet.. And they’d really look spectacular in a wall or a fence, I bet.

    I’m not really sure if we have that kind of vine/plant here in the Philippines. But if there is, I haven’t seen one yet. Hehehe…

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. And your question.. “After that experience, do plants still listen to you?” – Oh well, I’d like to think that they still do. I have a lot of ground orchids in bloom today. And I gave them a little “motivation”.. Just like what I did with my rose plant. Hehehe.. And It kinda worked. So I guess, they do listen to me still. Hehehe…

  10. easygardener says:

    Oh …they are so pretty. I do like a blue flower and the white centre really makes it stand out. A lovely bloom to brighten up the dull day we are having over here!

  11. andrea says:

    Kanak, those are real beautiful blues. I like them but i haven’t find them here. If you only have put some saturation in those, the more lovely it becomes, approaching the real blue in its natural color.

  12. Love the colours of your beautiful cluster vine. Lovely shots!
    I also want to thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting.

Leave a Reply

