Red Amaryllis Lilies

Image

It was three years ago on this day that my father passed away. Was it coincidence that the red amaryllis lilies that are usually in full bloom by the fag end of March chose to open up today? On the 12th of April? Every year I have the red ones blooming side by side with the white ones. The white amaryllis have done blooming. I had written about this on one of my posts, That there were no flowers blooming in my parents’ garden when he passed away except for those red vibrant ones. Ironic that in death we said goodbye with blooms that were so alive. These lilies will always remind me of those days when my father was fighting cancer, first on the lung, and then the throat…I’m touched and feel blessed that Mother Nature has chosen to commemorate this day, in my garden.

*******************************************************************************************************************

I have not been blogging here because I started a new food blog. It’called Blending Flavours and here’s the link http://blendingflavours.blogspot.in

I hope you stop by my food blog. Thank you all so much for stopping by and leaving your comments at Terra Farmer.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red Amaryllis Lilies

  1. Smita says:

    God certainly has his own unique ways of showing us His presence in our lives.

  2. Titania says:

    These red, vibrant Lilies so beautiful, like the memories you cherish of your past away loved ones.

  3. mpreeti says:

    Hi Kanak – I stumbled on your posts when searching for images of the Kama Kasturi. I’m glad I did as your description is refreshing and takes me back to my childhood days. I’m sharing your posts with my mother too since she is an avid gardener. I was also thrilled to see your food blog as well coz I love to cook and experiment. I’m following both your blogs now. Keep up the great posts :-)

    Cheers.

  4. Anu says:

    Please don’t stop blogging here. I just came across your blog today and saw such beauty that it saddens me that you will be posting here no more! Your blog refreshed my memory of happy times when we were posted there, wonderful green evirons, beautiful birds and not to forget mentioning the nice wonderful people!

Leave a Reply

