Blooming Friday/Marigolds

Our city streets are paved with (mari)gold:) There must be an army of flower vendors  out in full force selling their wares in every imaginable colour but the golds rule. It’s enough to distract any shopper as unsuspecting old me keeps finding out! A trip to the nearest market to replenish the fridge and the sturdy kitchen baskets that’s been home sweet home to potatoes and onions for donkey’s years and I find myself standing beside these profusion of buds and blooms. Well, the mundane  is brushed aside at the sight of the profusion of blooms……..

It isn’t just the marigolds. There are mums, calendulas, bachelor buttons, zinnias: the list goes on and on. I was never a big fan of marigolds. One reason could be of seeing them in every garden ever since I was a child. And the smell! It was easy to grow from seeds and it loved the sun–there was never any dearth of the latter. It really didn’t take much to grow these plants. Unlike hydrangeas which needed shady areas. Not every gardener in my region was that passionate! But blogging and sharing change perceptions. Checking out on the uses of these blooms, I was surprised to find out their many uses.

Here are some of them:-

1. Burning the leaves acts as a repellent for insects.

2.Rubbing a marigold flower brings relief to pain caused by a bee/wasp sting.

3. A lotion prepared from the flowers can be used to treat wounds and sprain.

4.Marigold tea made by steeping dried and crushed flowers can be used for treating cramps and stomach upsets.

5. Marigold petals mixed with chicken feed enhances the colour of the egg-yolks.

I’d never have guessed that a common flower had so many medicinal uses. And I’m glad that our much-loved short-lived winter has brought so much of vibrancy to the streets, our homes and our gardens.

To see more Blooming Friday posts, head over to Katarina @ROSES AND STUFF.

Wish you a wonderful weekend!!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Blooming Friday/Marigolds

  1. Mildred says:

    Marigolds are fairly common here and easy to grow and as you say, the smell is pungent but I love the color combinations. We have some areas of poor, red clay soil in the bright sun of the summer and marigolds thrive with no care at all. I was interested to read the different uses of these blooms.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend Kanak.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, wish you the same too! apart from all these uses, marigolds are used in all Hindu rituals. There were so many other uses but I didn’t want to make my post too long. Surprising that so many plants have uses that we don’t usually imagine!

  2. Birgitta says:

    Thanks for your comment.
    The marigolds are lovely but yellow ;-))

    Birgitta

  3. Stephanie says:

    I have guessed too! Tq for the info on Marigolds’ medicial uses. Such a attractive flower also. Have a great weekend Kanak!

  4. AngelPearls says:

    I can feel the special nice smell of those flowers..Love the colour! I’ve candles at my place today, instead of flowers. Love//Eva

  5. Tyra says:

    Marigolds are ‘The flowers of India’ for me. Isn’t it used a lot by the Hindues in their religion? Or is it just the colour that reminds my of Hinduism…

    Have a great weekend/ Tyra

    • kanak7 says:

      Tyra, oh yes! We use marigold in all our religious rituals. As offerings in temples. Outside temples in India you see flower stalls laden with marigold and lotus blooms.

  6. mia says:

    I love Marigolds, and the yellow color, it brighten up one’s days! And I am attracted to the scent, my mother allways say they stink, and I love the smell. Must be a lovely sight with all those flowers along the roads. And, next time anyone are stung by a wasp I know what to use 🙂

  7. AbirandAnisha says:

    Kanak didi,

    Marigolds have been a favourite, maybe to do with the fact that I saw them at my grandma’s altar ever since I was a kid. Plus the sight of them is pure delight. Thanks so much. You make Friday happier than they are. 🙂

    One of your biggest fans,

    Anisha

    • kanak7 says:

      Pami…thank you for all your visits/your support. Molly called me up…you can check out my About area. Will soon be checking out the name you told her.

  8. HelenJ says:

    Marigolds – you either love them or hate them. I can agree with you about the smell, and the fact that you have seen them everywhere since childhood. But they are so useful, as you say. And even more – growing them together with roses prevent the rose nematodes. So I think I love them after all 🙂

  9. easygardener says:

    It is interesting how our perception of certain plants changes over the years. As you say reading other blogs gives a different insight. Marigolds are certainly cheerful flowers so I’m all for them!

  10. Sweet Bay says:

    Tagetes lucida is my favorite marigold. There are a lot of beautiful ones.

  11. ASHISH says:

    What would life be without flowers-they brighten up ones life so much.Very well written piece.You have a follower of your blog in me now.

  12. Lillebeth says:

    Like small suns on the pavement. Lovely! Have a nice week end!

  13. So sunny and cheerful – quite the contrary to the weather in Sweden right now!
    Wishing you a great weekend!

  14. Susie says:

    Kanak I didn’t know Marigold had all those medicinal purposes either. Lots of people here don’t really care for the plant much but I think it is great. It blooms and blooms way into the early winter here.

    For me, it’s a no-brainer to grow.

  15. birdy says:

    Beautiful shots of marigold. Though it’s grown commonly in our area, however I never managed to capture them. Thanks for sharing some wonderful information and benefits of marigold. I always thought it to be a poisonous plant because of it bad smell.

Leave a Reply

