The Pansy Butterflies

When you think of pansies, images of these blooms in the foreground come to mind. But butterflies with the name Pansy are some of the most common in our region. Or in south-east  Asia for that matter. Although there are six in the Pansy list, I’ve yet to see the Blue Pansy and the Yellow Pansy. They belong to the family Nymphalidae.

The Grey Pansy/Precis atlites is mostly found near water bodies. I live near a marshy area which is why I get to see bugs which are mostly seen on the edge of rice fields. The underside of this butterfly is pale with faint markings. Although it is said to be less commonly seen (in India) than the other Pansy varieties, I’m happy it likes to hang out in my front yard. Preferred areas are the Ixora bush and the Lantana.The Lemon Pansy/Precis lemonias lemonias is a quick flier and is the most difficult to photograph. Prefers damp and shady areas.            

The Chocolate Pansy/Precis iphiti iphita is also known as the Chocolate Soldier. Wonderfully camouflaged on dry leaves one can barely make out the difference. Its distribution is the entire oriental region. This was photographed in an overgrown garden in another neighbourhood. In my garden I’ve often found the Chocolate Soldier near the drain.

The Peacock Pansy/Precis almana almana is the most conspicuous among all the Pansy varieties seen here. With those large eye spots on the hindwings, they look owlish from the back. One will invariably find them in sunny areas. Easy to photograph.

The underside is much paler as you can see from the photo above. The Grey and the Peacock Pansies were photographed in my garden. The first photo of the flowers was taken at a horticultural show earlier this year. Still on the lookout for the Blue and the Yellow Pansy butterflies. They have eluded me so far…..

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Vegetable and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Pansy Butterflies

  1. Mildred says:

    Good Morning Kanak,
    You know how I love butterflies. What pretty pictures you have shared this morning. Have a nice weekend.

  2. Randy says:

    Kanak,
    Just love these beautiful butterflies! They remind me of our very common buckeye butterflies. The Grey Pansy looks a little like our White Peacock.

  3. Jim Groble says:

    It is always a pleasure to visit. Your pictures are wonderful.

    jim

  4. Susie says:

    This was an interesting post Kanak. Learned something new. I like that little Peacock one. So pretty with those eyes.

  5. birdy says:

    Nice to see different varieties of pansy butterflies. Blue pansy and peacock pansy are common in our area, however never observed the remaining species.

  6. autumnbelle says:

    Wow, another post of beautiful butterflies that I enjoy very much. Kanak, I like your new blog theme. It is soft and bright. I think wordpress is great. When I click on your profile, I am directed to the old blog. Would you be changing your link in your profile to this new blog?

  7. rocksea says:

    woah!! that is a wonderful, comparative article on the pansies! beautiful, kanak 🙂

  8. Stephanie says:

    Good shots of those butterflies 😀 Their eyespots are attractive and so many of them on the wings. Hmm… now I know they are pansy too he he…

    • kanak7 says:

      That’s the characteristic of the Pansies, Steph! Here, the Peacock’s are the most prominent!

      • kanak7 says:

        Thanks you so much, Meems! They are very colourful, the blue one–more so. I’m beginning to think these two aren’t common in my region. Now we mostly have the satyrs flying about. You’re so right about the company….without them gardening would never be as fun.

        Happy Holidays!!

  9. Meems says:

    I do hope you will have a chance at the blue and the yellow pansy… it makes me wonder if they are actually as colorful as their name infers. It’s kind of fascinating to see that you always have similar plant life to Florida but the butterflies are not the same. All of the ones you feature are fun to learn about and I know how happy it makes a gardener to have them keep you company in your own garden. Merry Christmas wishes to you and your family, dear Kanak.
    Meems

  10. Andrea says:

    Hi Kanak, i was late here as i had difficulty in opening this new site last year. Happy New Year! Pansies are my favorites though they dont thrive here in hotter climes. I saw them the first time in Europe and then in Ooty, India as it is at the top of a mountain, where temperatures are low. I love butterflies too but not especially the pansy butterflies.

Leave a Reply

