Blooming Friday/Roadside Displays

In December I had posted about marigolds on sale all across the roadsides in busy markets. Now that it’s January, there are more blooms (and plants) on sale. These are the kinds of flowers seen on the streets now. Most vendors do not have a stall. They spread a little mat on the edge of the road and sit down with the most beautiful blooms.  And that’s enough to make us stop, make our hearts skip a beat!:)

A closer look at the asters on display. The man who was selling these told me that he grows his flowers on an acre  of land. Three days a week , he leaves his village (about 40 kms. from the city) at 5 AM to sell his plants. Business, in this season, is booming. The other just-starting-to-bloom-plants are the salvia (dwarf variety), cosmos, tube rose, dahlias,  mums, and more marigolds!

Strips of banana leaves are used to tie up roots like the one shown in the picture. Then the leaves are again held in place with bamboo strips. All locally available material. And because the weather is so kind to plants now, they all survive.

I had bought some ready-to-bloom mums last month. These are the colours I’d never grown before. I’m happy that they are doing very well and ….

…the bees agree!!

To see what’s blooming around the world, please head over to Katarina’s beautiful blog,  ROSES AND STUFF.

I wish you all a great weekend!.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Blooming Friday/Roadside Displays

  1. Mildred says:

    Such brilliant colors Kanak. How interesting to see how he uses banana leaves to tie up the roots too. Your mum is gorgeous! Wishing you a happy weekend.

  2. Good choice Kanak! Love those mums. The colour is beautiful. It is wonderful to see how they sell the plants with no pots – peddlar style. I like it! I wish I could find them here. Then we could have more choice 😀 The asters are beautiful, did you get any?

    • kanak7 says:

      Oh yes! I got the purple and the pink ones. In the nurseries you get the same plants in plastic bags or in pots but this is cheaper. And easier for the sellers to transport them from the farms to the city. As for the mums, I had never planted these ones before. Love that orange/yellow mix, Steph.

  3. islandgal246 says:

    How wonderful to have vendors at the roadside selling beautiful flowering plants. And they are in earth friendly packaging to boot. The man who grows the flowers on one acre will be worth paying a visit to. 🙂

  4. Gunilla says:

    Fantastic so many beautiful flowers and all for sale.
    Nice colors too.
    I wish I could find something like that here . But I have to wait until summer.
    Thanks for visiting me too.
    Have a nice weekend

    Gunilla

  5. Susie says:

    That looks like an ingenuous idea of tying up the roots with banana leaves. Thanks for showing us some beautiful colors. Right now all I see is brown in my yard.

    Have a great weekend Kanak!

  6. Moas says:

    Åh.. so nice to plant flowers in the garden this time of year. Here is the snow deep and my garden is very frozen. You wrote about my amaryllis, I can’t of course have it outdoors, it will kill it after a few ours. No we bougth them in the store this time of year and have them indoors around christma, it’s a very popular christmasflower inside our homes. Whith -10 degrees we must have somethings beatiful to look at. Have a nice weekend, Moa

    • kanak7 says:

      Wow! Despite the cold! But it’s so nice to see any kind of bloom in that severe cold. Thank goodness that some of them do well indoors.

      Stay warm!!

  7. What a clever man! Tha Mums are gorgeous – they sure brightened up my room!
    Happy Blooming Friday!

  8. easygardener says:

    What a lovely display of flowers. It is an extra pleasure to find that the person selling them is also the grower.
    Have a good weekend.

  9. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kanak! My mouth waters when I see those plants! The first ones seem to be some kind of Justicia. Are they? By the way, I enjoyed your post on the Brahmaputra.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, after reading your comment I realized that they do look like Justicia but they aren’t. They’re salvia, the dwarf variety, beginning to bloom.

  10. Shailaja says:

    Great pics. In addition to the lovely blooms, you managed to ‘catch’ a bee, too (last photo)!

  11. mia says:

    Oh, I wish I were a bee and could spend my weekend on your mums. What a lovely warm colour they have :)almost like fire.

  12. Björg Nina says:

    Heisann!
    Wonderful pictures and interesting story about the market.
    Asters are one of my favorites… in all colors.Have a nice season and planting!

  13. Kanak I really like your new look. It is so interesting to see the flowers and how they are wrapped to be sold. Lovely photos. Carol

  14. AnnA says:

    Hi Kanak!
    Thank’s for comments on my blogposts!
    The flowers you are showing on your bloomingfridaypost are summerflowers here in Sweden, but now here in Sweden it is winterseason.It is white and snowy outside, even here in the southern parts of Sweden, and it has been very chilly. Now it is warmer again, and today the sun is showing it’s “face”.
    Have nice week!
    AnnA

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Anna, glad to know that you did get to see the sun! Can’t imagine the cold in minus degrees! All these flowers grow here now because the weather is at its best. But it does not remain cool for a long period.

      Have a great week too!

  15. Autumn Belle says:

    The blooms are gorgeous, full of colour and life. Winter is the best season at your place? I only get to see such beautiful blooms in the cool, temperate highlands here in Malaysia. Kanak, The pictures appear much better here than in blogger. Is it due to your camera or wordpress?

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, I’m so glad to read this! I’m using the same cameras. Maybe it’s WordPress and the white background. At least I’d like to think so!

Leave a Reply

