Blooming Friday/ Sleeping Hibiscus And Jasmine

 

Welcome to another Blooming Friday! Not very many blooms in my tiny yard but there’s more colour in the poinsettia now to spread a little winter cheer. We’re still waking up to foggy mornings and I hope it carries on for at least two weeks or so.

The other blooms below are from my sister’s garden. The white jasmine has been blooming for over a month now. And the Sleeping Hibiscus blooms throughout the year. The plant does well in full sun. In partial shade or shady areas, it tends to be spindly and the blooms become fewer.

To see what’s blooming around the world, please visit Katarina.

Have a great weekend everyone!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Blooming Friday/ Sleeping Hibiscus And Jasmine

  1. Tyra says:

    Ah Jasmine…you can pick some fresh fjowers for your tea, what a treat. You have change your blog…I like it now I have to check that I got the correct link address. I wish you a great weekend and a happy blooming Friday. xx Tyra

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Tyra. I had some problems with the format so I came here. It’s been a month now and I’m happy with the layout and the many other features. Glad you’ll be checking out the link…will always love your visits!

      Hope you have a great weekend too!

  2. easygardener says:

    I like the bright colours. They brighten up my wintery day.
    Enjoy your weekend!

  3. lotusleaf says:

    That white jasmine is the whitest! It flowers all through the winter. Yor pictures are great, as usual, but I miss the butterflies and dragonflies!

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma…although I’ve managed to go on photo shoots, I’ve only come across the satyrs. Yes, the ones I’ve posted several times! My attempt to capture the Crimson tip butterfly failed as it preferred to fly high up on a tree. I think you won’t have to wait long….!!

  4. Susie says:

    Pretty flowers Kanak no matter who they belong to.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I saw the same hibiscus at the side of one house this morning. The red flowers are intense making the whole tree looks like has spots of red. It’s a beautiful plant. I like your poinsettia also 😀 Have a wonderful weekend!

    Regarding the nurseries in your country, I hope they would expand their range of products for customers like yourself 🙂

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph, oh yes, in sunny areas the red covers the entire plant. These blooms are used during worship too. About the nurseries, I hope so too! I’m so tired of seeing the lack of variety in our pot designs:( You’re lucky! Spoilt for choice, really!!

  6. Zindagi says:

    Lovely colors and flowers!

    • kanak7 says:

      Zindagi…thanks. Most poinsettias around the city have a lot of colour on them, in red and cream, but mine has been a little slow. I’ll be having them for a longer period, I guess!:)

  7. I like the sleeping hibiscus a lot. And, of course, the white jamine – so pretty!
    Wishing you a great weekend!

  8. mia says:

    Your first red photo reminds me of Euphorbia, that we decorate with for Christmas, inside of course… Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  9. birdy says:

    Just beautiful. I Always love flowers and especially the white ones. jasmine is one of my favorite flowers. I love it’s odor. By the way it’s our national flower.

  10. leavesnbloom says:

    lovely colours . I just love the fragrance from the Jasmine.

  11. wendy says:

    Hi Kanak,
    I am so glad you stopped by my blog. My whole blogroll disappeared and I’ve been trying to “rebuild” it a blog at a time. Could not find yours. But now I will add you to my blogroll once again.

    I love the view of your pointsettia. Never thought to photograph it so close up (and I do love macro shots). Jasmine is pretty. It’s also the name of one of my granddaughters, so a special flower for me.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, I shifted to WordPress in mid-December…glad that Terra farmer will be on your blogroll again. Your Jasmine takes after you…both so pretty! It’s a lovely name. As for the poinsettia, parts of the bracts didn’t look clean enough (construction going on and dust can be bad…and that’s just putting it mildly) so I took that shot. The colour’s lovely, not the usual red that you tend to associate with these blooms.

      I hope your computer thing gets sorted out soon…can be so annoying! enjoy your Sunday!

  12. Lillebeth says:

    So beautiful. I really envy you!

  13. Birgitta says:

    Your pictures reminds me about warm, sunwarm tomatoes, directly from the greenhouse.

    Birgitta

  14. Autumn Belle says:

    I have never seen those sleeping hibiscus before. I think they look lovely.

Leave a Reply

