The Beautiful Barail Ranges

I was away visiting my parents and was out of blogosphere for more than ten days. I’ll soon be catching up on all the blogs that I visit regularly.

The photos above are of the blue hills surrounding my hometown, Haflong. From any point in the town, you see them–the beautiful Barail ranges. Sunrise is always a pretty sight when the hills wear a dark shade of blue but once the sun is up you only see a faint outline. Every shade is so beautiful! It’s the kind of surroundings that make you so aware of how fortunate one is to see/live amidst such spectacular natural beauty.

It’s always such a pleasure to be back to these hills that I love so much. It’s like comfort food, like a much-loved song that keeps playing in the inner recesses of my mind, it’s a sight that always makes me feel blessed. I suppose that’s how it is with familiar surroundings.

I’d gone to help my mother look after my ailing father. But since there’s some stability in his condition I walked in the mornings, visited relatives in the afternoons, and took a great deal of pictures…mostly of the hills and flowers. All in all it was a refreshing break for me. These hills will feature in many of my posts. Looking forward to visiting you all soon!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Beautiful Barail Ranges

  1. Andrea says:

    Yes you are right Kanak, you are so blessed. Maybe you should invite us to see your area in reality, hehe, me and Autumn Belle from Malaysia, it would be fun. I will love to be there coz i love mountains. I just have been to Ooty, in the south. Have you been there?

    we’re glad you’re back! You already missed many of our posts.

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea, hi! Blogger friends getting together would be such fun! Maybe someday… No, I haven’t been to Ooty but would love to do so in the future. Thank you for your words…so nice to be remembered this way. I missed you all too!!

  2. Andrea says:

    O Kanak there is no provision here of deletion unlike in blogger, i wish to change my website attached.

  3. Stephanie says:

    The sun seen coming from the behind the defined blue hills is a beautiful sight. I hope your father will be better soon and you would have a fruitful time with both your parents. Thanks for visiting my blog eventhough you are busy. Have a blessed day!

  4. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, I am encouraged that your father is stable. What a blessing to be able to visit with your parents/family and friends and have some leisure time to photograph the exquisite scenery. I look forward to seeing more great pictures.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, it’s the first time in months that I’ve seen him sit up, or walk with the help of a (walking) stick. The several complications continue as before but he isn’t totally bed-ridden now. Touch wood! I’m looking forward to sharing many of the pictures. Despite the landscape being dry as is the case during this season, I did find a great deal of blooms.

  5. islandgal246 says:

    Hello there Kanak,

    I am happy to hear that your father’s condition has stabilized a bit. There is no place like home as we get older. Hills and mountains send shivers of excitement through me and especially in a blue mist. Now you are making me a bit homesick for my island home of Grenada. Take care my friend.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen…always so lovely to hear from you. These hills are ingrained in my psyche:) Grenada must be beautiful too. You’re right about wanting to be home as we get older. Every visit is like a reaffirmation of one’s love for the place!

  6. Aaaah! I’m sure you’re enjoying those lovely high altitude vistas! How I badly wanna visit that place! Someday…

  7. Diana says:

    Kanak, the scenery is beautiful and I see why you long for those images. Welcome back and happy to know your father is doing better.

    I like your “new look” by the way. Diana

  8. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kanak! Glad to know that yor father is better. The picture of the hills with the grasses is very beautiful. Looking forward to more posts from you.

  9. joey says:

    Your photos are stunning, Kanak! Get well wishes for your father’s continued good health.

  10. How dramatic! Breathtaking Kanak!

Leave a Reply

