Blooming Friday/ More Blooms From My Hometown

Welcome to Blooming Friday! I can’t wait to share more images of blooms from my hometown, Haflong. To see what’s blooming around the world, please visit our gracious host, Katarina@ ROSES AND STUFF.

First on my list are the pretty pink blooms of an ornamental tobacco from my uncle’s house. Nandita (his daughter) is an avid plant collector. And this was her latest find:)

From my mother-in-law’s garden is this creamy white hibiscus.

From the road, I snapped the picture of this vine covering the entire portion of one side of a house. The Flaming Trumpet vine/Pyrostegia venusta is a prolific bloomer and this is its season.

A variety of sunflower grows in the wild. I only managed to get one of the last wilting blooms on the roadside.

From the train, I caught the flash of yellow. How beautiful the area must have looked at the height of the blooming period. If you click on the image you can see the numerous seed-heads.And on waysides, covered with a thick coating of winter dust, the Scarlet Morning Glory/Ipomoea hederifolia still managed to look happy. That’s how it is till the rains come in March/April. But if we’re lucky sudden winter showers will come and wash away all the dust.But on a road less frequented, on the edge of a jungle, The Angel’s Trumpets look cleaner. This variety of Datura grows wild all over the area. The blooms are large and face downwards. And of course I can’t resist posting this sunset photo. I’m glad I caught these orange hues one evening. Mostly, it’s been the sunrise shots taken on my walks early in the mornings.Blooming Friday has been  an opportunity (and will continue to be so) to share so many images from my region. Thank you, Katarina. And to all my friends and visitors, a heart-felt THANK YOU too!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Blooming Friday/ More Blooms From My Hometown

  1. Stephanie says:

    That Flaming Trumpet Vine is wonderful. The plant look super nice like that. Amazing! I like those Morning Glory flowers also. It’s so nice to see scenery in the country side even from pic that you have snapped. Btw, are those paddy fields that have dried up now (winter)? Thanks for that sunrise shot. Beautiful!

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph, the area has many Ipomoea varieties. There are white ones and yellow ones besides the usual blue/purplish types. The paddy has been harvested and that’s the scene in the countryside now. Glad you liked the last shot. It’s a sunset shot. Sometimes one can’t tell the difference…the hues are the same.

  2. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Such a treat for me to see these beautiful pictures from your hometown. Many years ago I had a nicotiana – what a pretty color and the morning glory too. That hibsicus is amazing and so is the trumpet vine. It must have been such a thrill to photograph so many pretty things – that sunset is just perfect. Wishing you a lovely weekend.

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Mildred. I wish you and Nalley the same! It was a thrill indeed…so many amazing blooms to be photographed. Hilly areas are so interesting. The elevation makes it just right for the elements to be milder/kinder. In my heart of hearts, I have never left my hometown!:)

  3. mia says:

    beautiful as ever. Nice with all those flowers and colours when all we see is white.. I can only to well imagen the work of giving those pots with trumpet wine all the water needed, but a ‘smashing’ sight it is 🙂

    • kanak7 says:

      Mia, I noticed the blooms as I crossed that area. The Flaming Trumpets were blooming in a whole lot of places but this one made you stop and stare! The pots have euphorbias in them. They certainly don’t look good in this season.

  4. Susie says:

    Kanak I really enjoy seeing all these beauties from your area. I would love to see Angel trumpet just growing like that. Of course, I am a big fan of the flowering tobacco too!

    • kanak7 says:

      Susie, I’ve only seen the Angel’s Trumpets in that colour in hilly areas but in the plains of Assam, they come in other colours too. I saw a purple/white one today.

  5. noel says:

    wow, there’s alot of blooming flowers for today, nice post of whats growing!

  6. lotusleaf says:

    I have not seen the ornamental tobacco here. It is beautiful. The pictures are so evocative! Have a happy weekend!

  7. wendy says:

    So nice to see all your blooms. I love the flaming trumpet vine! It’s gorgeous. And seeing the datura growing wild – wow! I had one that I grew on my back deck. Had to bring it in the house for the winter. It grew well for a few seasons and then got so big, I just let it go. Now I regret it. Oh well…..

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, when I see the datura on blogs, I long to plant them. But seeing them in the wild and keeping in mind the space they need, I tell myself I shouldn’t. I did get some seeds today, from the wild. We went to a nature park and the gorgeous blooms simply kept calling out to me!:-)))) My heart melted!! Will keep you updated on this!

  8. zindagi says:

    lovely flowers and as always great pics!

  9. It’s always a delight to visit and to look at all your colourful blooms. Of all the gorgeous flowers, I like the creamy white Hibiscus the most. Absolutely adorable!

  10. Moas says:

    I realy love to visit you and to look at all your beatiful blooms, out here it’s only snow snow and snow!!! So, to look at your photos and se that you have warm and flowering views makes me feel mutch better =). I realy love the creamy white Hibiscus, absolutely adorable!
    Have a nice weekend..Moa

    • kanak7 says:

      Moa, I hope all that snow starts to melt soon. If my photos bring cheer to you, the purpose of joining a meme is much more than what I’d wanted. Would love to post more colour for you and all our common friends from blogdom!

      Have a pleasant weekend and a great (coming) week!

  11. islandgal246 says:

    The flaming trumpet vine is stupendous! I am going to look for this vine in the nursery. Thank you Kanak and have a great weekend!

  12. Gunilla says:

    Fantastic flowers you are showing today.
    Beautiful colors and the tree with all the flowers , Wonderful.
    The Angel´s trumpet, I have one in the room and it´s just started to get leafs now.

    Have a nice week
    Gunilla

Leave a Reply

