Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

Welcome to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day! It’s Kalanchoe time here and mine is blooming in a pot. I’m pretty happy with the way it’s taken off, blooming like this for the second time in a row.

Single dahlia on the ground. I have some in pots too. It’s a much-loved place for tiny bees.

These are the only blooms from my yard that are worth posting. So I’m adding photos of trees in bloom in this season. The trees are not from my garden.

Across the region many trees are in bloom. Caught these plum blossoms on one of my walks.

The Mulberry tree is also covered in blooms.

Our landscape is dotted with the Drumstick tree/Moringa oleifera. Caught this crimson sunbird feeding on the nectar. This photograph does not do justice to the brilliance of its colours. Below is an image of another tree in full bloom. And that’s a common sight at this time of the year. Said to be the most useful of trees, it is a fast-growing medium-sized tree.

To visit other participants for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, please head over to Carol’s at May Dreams Gardens.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

  1. Susie says:

    The kalanchoe is really pretty but I like how soft the dahlia color is. Nice pics Kanak!

  2. Nell Jean says:

    The picture of the bird in the tree looks as if it belongs in a long-ago book of poetry. Good capture!

    I haven’t seen a mulberry tree in fifty years. We used to eat them, not because they were good, but because they were there.

    • kanak7 says:

      Nell Jean, thank you for stopping by. About the bird…love the way you put it. Come to think of it, it is evocative of another era. Mulberry trees aren’t very common where I live but in the town where I grew up they do well.

  3. Mildred says:

    What a treat it is to see these blooms and that beautiful bird. I’ve never had any luck with dahlias but yours is so pretty. My spirits are always lifted after I visit you and your pretty photos Kanak. Have a nice week.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, I’m so happy to read this. I really want to show the best of our region. i’m planting dahlias after ages. I’ve been growing zinnias and calendulas, nasturtiums and phlox. Now I think I’ll grow the double ones next year. Your comment (and others’ also) have changed the way I feel about dahlias!:-)

      I hope you have a good week too!

  4. The color of your kalanchoe is so bright and cheerful! I would love that right now, Kanak. I can’t get mine to rebloom, though;-( I got it LAST Feb. and it did well for a long time. I kept it outside on my screened in porch for some of the summer and it was fine. But haven’t seen any more blooms, and it got very leggy, so I had to cut it back. I have it under a grow light…who knows? It might surprise me one day! That bird is so interesting to look at…something we’d see only in an ‘enclosed bird sanctuary’ or something similar. Nice to know I can see all kinds of exotic plants, birds and insects when I visit. Oh, and the dahlia, that’s a winner;-) Happy Bloom Day! Jan

    • kanak7 says:

      Jan, I hope it does!! And keep on blooming. And blooming!! That’s what we see around the city now. Seems like every home has a dozen pots! When I first saw the sunbirds in my yard, I thought they were hummers. They do have the same way of feeding although I haven’t captured them like that. It’s only now that I’m noticing the different kinds of birds here. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to include tons of bird images this year. Will check out your Bloom Day post!

  5. wendy says:

    How pretty – your kalanchoe is a treat! And the dahlia so soft and lovely. That sunbird must be absolutely brilliantly coloured, when seen up close. I’m glad you were able to capture it. Happy bloom day!

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Wendy. I have the sunbirds feeding on my flowers too. But not the crimson ones. The black ones come to the Ixora and the pale yellow ones head straight for the Canna lily. But I’ve never managed to get a decent picture here.

  6. Melody says:

    I tried dahlias again last summer and fell in love with them. I’ll be glad when mine start blooming. Yours is a lovely color.

  7. That bird looks sweet! And the Dahlia too! I love Dahlias, only I can’t get them to germinate.

  8. Titania says:

    The velvety flowers of the Kalanchoe are so pretty and the plant flowers for a long time. Have you also got the yellow variety? I have just planted a border with red and yellow, as they are so easily propagated from cuttings. I love this soft yellow Dahlia, I could see this colour in my garden too! The nectar sipping birds have a feast with so many flowering trees.

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi, i have the yellow ones too but they’re only just beginning to bloom. That’s the best part about kalanchoes…the propagation, I mean. I can imagine how pretty your new border must be. A great combination!

  9. lotusleaf says:

    The little bird is so cute! Drumstick trees attract a lot of bees and birds.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, I’d love to take more photos of the pollinators but I don’t have a tree in my garden. I did plant one years ago but the summer flooding caused it to die.

  10. Jan says:

    Your garden looks like ours usually does about this time of year. I can’t believe that none of the flowering trees around here are not showing any flowers. This has been a crazy winter here, and I can’t wait for warmer, more normal temperatures.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    • kanak7 says:

      Jan, most of the fruit in our region is sour. The sweetness comes only when they are about to rot!:) I’m referring to the plums and the peaches of the north-east. I’ve been reading about all that snow…hope Spring rolls your way soon.

      Thanks for stopping by. happy to see you’re using WordPress too!

  11. Rosie says:

    Kanak its such a pleasure to come over here and see such new plants – I suppose I never expected to see a dahlia in flower at this time of year even in India! it has such a lovely shade of soft yellow – I certainly would be a choice of mine too. I was over on one blog there today and saw mulberry fruit and now I see a different one here – a mulberry tree. BTW I’m starting to subscribe to your new posts as I keep missing some of these great posts of yours.

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie, thank you so much!! I’m so honoured to read this. The mulberry tree is from my parents’ garden, The fruit will start to ripen by late March. As children I remember picking the fallen fruit from outside the wall of a neighbour’s garden. Oh, the joy was intense as we gorged on the ripe fruit with the red juice running down our arms.

      About the dahlias, you might be surprised to know that many flowers that you plant in spring and summer do very well here in the cooler months of December to April. And most horticultural shows are also held around this time. There’s some kind of colour throughout the year but most gardeners love working in their gardens around this time because this is the only time that the weather gods are kind. Benevolent, in fact!:)

      Have a lovely gardening week, Rosie!

  12. Abir and Anisha Bordoloi says:

    Kanak didi, I see genius in what you do! I am trying to scream from the rooftop so BBC can hear! You need to be known by the entire planet for your brilliance. I kid you not! – Pami

  13. shivani baker says:

    Hi ayung …I was just going through your blog from papa’s blackberry and it is so interesting ayung and I have learnt a lot !!!!!wonderfull photographs!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

