Blooming Friday/Colour From The Garden And Beyond

It’s Blooming Friday and time to celebrate! With blooms from the garden and beyond! To see posts from other participants, please head over to Katarina’s beautiful blog ROSES AND STUFF.

The first picture is of a weed that grows all across the roadsides and next to rice-fields. Earlier I only noticed that they were blue but taking a close shot made me aware of the beauty of all the blue strands.

This is the last berry on my asparagus fern. The fern was a profuse bloomer last year. I’ll have to take note of whether it follows up its success story:)These red/orange spikes are the blooms of a medicinal plant known in Sanskrit as Vasak. The local name is teetha phool, which translates to’ bitter flower’. The plant blooms profusely in the cooler months and the bitter blooms are cooked as a vegetable.The plant is an evergreen shrub and even the leaves are also said to have medicinal properties. The leaves can be crushed and made into a drink with pepper, honey, and ginger as a remedy to common cold. Much in the same way basil leaves are used as a cure for the same ailment.I took this picture as I blanched them in order to expel the bitterness to a certain extent. Some people also squeeze out the water but I don’t do that.

Found Vasak planted as a hedge near the roadside. One feature of hilly areas is that you can’t see the house from the road if it is at a lower level from the road. At least not in all cases. In the late afternoon sun, with the shadow of another hill falling on the area and the spikes silhouetted against the skyline, even without the profuse blooms they look interesting, don’t you agree?

Only the Asparagus fern is from my garden. The photos of the Vasak plants were taken in my parents’ garden and the last picture is from my hometown. And of course the hills are my beloved Barail Ranges!

Thank you for stopping by. I’ll be taking a short bloggy break but I’ll be back answering my comments and visiting you all again…soon! Have a great weekend!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Blooming Friday/Colour From The Garden And Beyond

  1. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, I enjoyed these unusual blooms and the vegetables. Such a pretty view of your hometown too. I hope all is well with you and yours and that you enjoy your break. I will miss you and your beautiful photos.

    • kanak7 says:

      Thank you Mildred. I hope I’ll be able to keep on posting many of our local plants and blooms.

      All is well except that the construction is taking longer than expected. I really have to spend time with the dusting and the gardening. And things I’ve neglected for too long.

  2. Susie says:

    The blue weed/flower you show looks like Ageratum Kanak. I wonder if that is what it is.

    Hope you enjoy your break. We’ll be here when you get back.

  3. Sweet Bay says:

    Susie’s right, that’s ageratum. We have a native ageratum species that’s a spreader too, wonder if it’s the same one. I love its shade of violet-blue.

    • kanak7 says:

      Sweetbay, it’s only after reading all these comments on my post I’ve learnt the weed’s name. Thanks! Quite a variety out there, right? Yes, the colour is lovely!

  4. easygardener says:

    The weed looks lovely – as if it was made of strands of coloured cotton. Enjoy your blogging break.

  5. Rosie says:

    what a wonderful looking weed. Love seeing the pictures of your local area too.

  6. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kanak! The weed grows here too- it has overtaken the Congress weed. My Vasaka flowers are white. Yor flowers are very pretty. Have a nice weekend!

  7. Is that gorgeous blue flowe a weed? Unbelievably beautiful, nevertheless.

    • kanak7 says:

      Katarina, it’s a sea of blue in certain areas, especially during the cooler months. The plant has a pungent smell but I admit that looking at close shots of weeds make you see them in a different light….

  8. Lillebeth says:

    What a beautiful weed. Whish something like that grew here to. Have a nice week end!

  9. Stephanie says:

    I have not seen the blooms that you have posted here before. The blue weed is so extraordinary. The strands look like wool thread. That Vasak is bitter? Well, I wonder why all things bitter has lots of medicinal properties ha ha… Have a good break Kanak 😀

  10. Birdy says:

    The blue blooms in the first picture are looking to be Mist flowers, that also grow here with us. I had some pictures of mist flowers, which I will post in a few days. Always love to learn about medicinal plants.

  11. wendy says:

    What nice blue weeds you have! I find it strange to cook flowers to eat. Nice to come here and learn about different plants, medicinal flowers and what you do with them.

    I love the pic of your hometown. Those mountains look so lovely. Enjoy your break. Seems like a lot of people are taking some time off. Will miss you!

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, thanks! The same goes for me too. Although I was out of blogosphere your thoughts were often on my mind. Glad you liked the photos of my hometown.

  12. james says:

    Hi Kanak,
    You got a lovely asparagus fern – nice to see the red berry. It must be diffcult to maintain as it got lots of nasty thorns – wonder how you handle it.

  13. Andrea says:

    All the plants here are alien to me, except the asparagus fern. So it can thrive on cold climates, i didn’t know. The first photo would be so wonderful if with a real macro lens, perhaps.

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea, you’re right about the macro lens bit. Well, it’s cold here only during the period between November to January. The rest of the year we keep cursing the heat!!!

  14. Titania says:

    The ageratum is a weed here as well. It grows in my orchard as a blue sea in winter. The photo shows its delicate beauty, but it is tough as old boots! I am always amazed about the myriad of dishes from plants and even flowers you are able to produce. I really love also the last photo with the black spikes in front and the soft hue of the mountains far away. Kanak, a very interesting post again.

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi, thanks for providing the name of the bloom! Lovely description about the blue sea in winter. So glad to to read your comment on my post!:-))))

  15. joey says:

    As always, very interesting, Kanak. Love the top blue weed. Enjoy your weekend break 🙂

  16. Jim Groble says:

    it is always a delight to visit. Your pictures are wonderful. jim

  17. Sunita says:

    We get a white version of those blue weeds, Kanak. But the blue is so much prettier.
    That orangy-red medicinal plant is so interesting! I wonder whether it grows here. I must look around for it.

  18. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kanak! Thanks for visiting my blog. I never see your posts these days. Hope all is well.
    Take care.
    Padma

  19. Kanak! I missed this post … Love the landscape view and yes the Vasak look so interesting in that light. Lovely!! I like all of your photos! Lovely flowers on the Vasak and how good to know it is a healing plant.

Leave a Reply

