Back Again!!

Hello friends! My break took much longer than what it was meant to be. I’m catching up on all your posts now and will definitely get back to my posting. I’d like to thank all of you who stopped by. Although it’s late I’ve responded to all your comments today. Better late than never!!

It makes sense to take this route back to my hometown [where else?:)))] But this time it’s to be with my parents for their fiftieth wedding anniversary. What a journey it’s been for them and despite my father’s  ailment, it is a huge reason to celebrate! The family got together joined by many relatives and friends.


And March is kind! To be greeted by trees in full bloom along the jungle roads, many without leaves and only blooms is a sight to behold! We came across many of these Bauhinia varieties, visions in lavender with dark pink in the middle of the blooms. Taking this route is a delight. The roads are in a deplorable condition but there are always spectacular blooms in every season and certainly not the ones you’d see in cultivated areas here.

This is indeed a pleasant time to travel. The intense heat of summer isn’t upon us and the wind carried a mild hint of rain.The forest is still dry. The emerald green look will come only after the rains.And then every leaf will look as if you were to touch it , moisture would gush forth!!!

Remember the pomelo tree I’d posted earlier? Well as soon as the last fruit falls to the ground, the tree starts to flower again. Much more than the beauty, it’s the fragrance that greets you! A heady combination of lemony aroma with a hint of jasmine in between! As for the pollinators, they were ever so busy!

And back home the freesia bulbs I’d planted for the first time bloomed. At the nursery I was told that they’d have yellow blooms. But I’m delighted with this combination of pink and yellow! Happy Spring everyone!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Back Again!!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Welcome back Kanak! I am happy to hear from you. You sound wonderful and have had a good rest. I am sure your hometown has given you much warmth and joy. That yellow freesia with pink is a reward 😀

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Steph! it’s wonderful to be back! About my hometown, the journey rather, is a botanist’s delight. Or in this case, should I say ‘Blotanist’?!! LOL!

  2. Mildred says:

    So very nice to see your post today Kanak. Congratulations to your parents on their 50th anniversary. Your description of the fragrant flowers is just lovely. Sounds like a magical drive through the jungle. I am on break currently but once our home sells and we are settled, I will post an update. Love to you and your family.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, thank you so much! I’ve always loved the route and now with blogging, I see much, much more! I hope everything goes well. I miss your posts. My best to you and Nalley.

  3. Susie says:

    I’m glad you made it back home safely Kanak. Congrats to your parents. Fifty years is a long time. Glad you all got to celebrate together!

  4. Autumn Belle says:

    Welcome back, Kanak. Happy Anniversary to your parents. 50 years is indeed an achievement worth a big celebration. You started this post with such lovely blooms. I thought they were cherry or plum blossoms, so many flowers without leaves on the branches. And what a pretty combination of colours your fresia turned out.

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, thank you so much! Although I’ve taken this route many times I’ve never seen these trees in full bloom. The reason, March being exam time for my sons. But fifty years is good for any reason to be tossed aside!:)

  5. islandgal246 says:

    Welcome back Kanak! Congrats to your parents on their golden anniversary. Spring has such a purity to it as seen in your photos of your hometown. Gorgeous trees and I can imagine how they lifted your spirits and you travel towards your destination. Glad to have you back!

  6. Greenthumb says:

    Hi Kanak! Congratulations on the 50th anniversary of your parents. Wow! 50th anniversary really calls for a celebration, though I am sorry for the health of your father. Hope the joy of spring cures him.

    • kanak7 says:

      Green Thumb, thank you!! To be together for that long and to be surrounded by children/grandchildren/relatives and friends was indeed special!

  7. lotusleaf says:

    Welcome back, Kanak! So nice to see your post again! The pomello blooms are gorgeous. Happy Anniversary to your parents! And best wishes to you and your family.

  8. Rosie says:

    I missed you Kanak! so many times I popped over here to see if there was a new blog post that had not been sent to me by email. Glad your back again and that you spent good quality time with your family and thankyou for your lovely compliment on my blog.

    I am sure there must be an incredible scent when the Pomelo Tree is in flower and I am sure it was a nice surprise to see a yellowish pink freesia. Rosie

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie, I’ll be posting regularly from now. Apart from the break I had a whole lot of internet connection woes!! The freesia was indeed a delight! When I was younger I never went gaga over mango or pomelo blooms. But there are so many common plants that I see through new eyes!:-) Glad to have you here…always!

  9. Carla says:

    Pretty, March is truly kind:). Our spring is wet, but I love it never the less. Congrats to your parents, what a legacy:)

  10. wendy says:

    What beautiful photos!!! I love the trees in blossom. How nice to be welcomed home this way. I missed you too! Your freesia are gorgeous. I love that there is pink in the flower too.
    Congratulations to your parents on their 50th! I hope your father was able to enjoy the celebrations.
    Hugs

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, thanks you so much!! My father’s bed-ridden but he was very happy! It’s strange that it’s because of the illness that I’ve travelled several times to the house I grew up in. In a way, had things being normal, I would’ve missed a whole lot of things/events connected with it. Or even the plants and insects along the way.

  11. james says:

    Its truly amazing to enjoy these trees with thousand blooms together with the fragrance. Hope you had a good enjoyable rest. Sometimes a break does refreshes and
    help to spring back.

    Glad to hear from you & thanks for the comments in my blog.

    • kanak7 says:

      James, it’s such a treat to visit you! I simply love the way you go about rescuing plants and then writing so passionately about them. You’re right about the break helping me spring back!!:-)))

  12. Kanak, It is great you have cooler weather and can enjoy more being outdoors. Your photos are so lovely of the blooming trees along the road and the pomelo tree’s blooms are so pretty! I hope your dad is able to enjoy the changing season and all of your visits! What a lovely freesia!

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Carol! It’s already getting much warmer now and soon I’ll start cribbing about the heat!! But March is indeed pleasant. Always love to hear from you…and glad you liked the photos.

      Happy gardening!

  13. walk2write says:

    It’s good to see you posting again, Kanak! Your visit with family must have been refreshing like the rains. There’s a spring to your post if not to your step. Congratulations to your parents for celebrating 50 years of marriage!

  14. Diana says:

    Hello Kanak! So happy to see you back. I was concerned, but now relieved to know that all is well and that your parents celebrated their 50th! Remarkably wonderful. Spring is here, blossoms abound and the bees are busy. Have a great weekend.

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Diana, thank you so much! I’m touched by what you’ve written. Your springtime sounds wonderful! Will surely be there to share in the celebration!! Wish you a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

