Blooming Friday/ The First Blooms

Welcome to Blooming Friday! It’s always exciting to see the first blooms on any plant and although today’s theme is pink, I only have two kinds of blooms in two different shades of pink. To see other delightful posts, please visit our gracious host Katarina @ ROSES AND STUFF.

A self-seeder from last year’s show is this Delphinium in this delicate shade. My potted poinsettia is still going strong and shows no sign of retiring!:) And the air is abuzz with hover flies….

I didn’t get much success with hollyhock last year but it was a heart-warming sight to see this bloom on the plant a few days ago.

But there’s nothing like seeing the first bloom on a plant that you’d gone to certain lengths in order to get it!! I got the bulbs from my aunt last year around April. This variety is said to bloom twice a year and March and November are the officially designated months!! Well, last year was a no-show but I’m hoping they live up to their name and reputation!!! Note that an itsy-bitsy spider has already found its niche!Not to mention the tiniest pollinators already in the thick of it even before the bloom has fully blossomed!Another first (of the season) is the Walking Iris/Neomarica gracilis. The plant is named so because the flowering stalks take root after bending over and making contact with the ground. In cooler climes it’s said to bloom twice a year but here it’s just once and March is the most active month.

Wish you all a blooming weekend!!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Blooming Friday/ The First Blooms

  1. Mildred says:

    Very pretty blooms Kanak! Wishing you a nice weekend.

  2. Tyra says:

    Hi Kanak, wonderful flowers in todays Blooming Friday! Have a great weekend my friend/ xoxo Tyra

  3. islandgal246 says:

    Hello Kanak,

    I agree that the first blooms on any plant is the most exciting moment in the garden. I normally let out a shriek and shout for my husband. He would come in a hurry asking what has happened and if I am ok. When I tell him why I shrieked out he shakes his head and says that I must not do that because one day no one will come in the event of me hurting myself, (like the boy who cried wolf). Hey can’t stop the excitement of a gardener. Have a great weekend!

  4. NatureStop says:

    Hi Kanak,
    It’s been a while since I worked on the PC.Looks like this year has been great so far with your blooms.Loved your posts.Heard from Chandana that you hurt your leg.Hope you are fine now.Have been really busy and both Diya and Hiya are driving me CRAZY:)BTW we finally put up the Pobitora pics on the blog..ha ha ha

    Ruby.

    • kanak7 says:

      Ruby! First of all CONGRATS!! Heard all the details from Chandana. Diya must be so excited with the little one. And congrats to the proud papa as well!!
      I haven’t been very active this month as you can see!! My leg’s healing now and as soon as the Board exams get over I’ll be heading down south. But it’s great to see you here. Will pop over to check out Pobitora now.

  5. Susie says:

    Hey Kanak, that first pic is so pretty. I planted some hollyhock seeds yesterday in a couple of pots. This is a first for me.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

    • kanak7 says:

      Susie, I hope they do really well. I planted them last year too but they didn’t do well. I’m happy with these blooms. Seeing all the gorgeous photos on blogs tempted me. think I’ll continue with the tradition!:)

      Wish you a great weekend too!!

  6. easygardener says:

    Lovely flowers. The walking Iris sounds a fascinating plant. It is always interesting to discover plants that have unusual ways of propagating themselves!

  7. lotusleaf says:

    The Walking Iris is new to me. Your amaryllis are beautiful! Have a happy weekend!

  8. mia says:

    Beautiful as ever, so enjoy to be back in your Garden, you were missed ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Stephanie says:

    I love that hollyhock! Do you think they can tolerate heat/sun Kanak? They look as pretty as hibiscus but smaller. The white amaryliss is gorgeous. Enjoy your garden and your day.

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph! The hollyhocks do very well in full sun. It’s just that I was concentrating on flowers that I hadn’t grown before and completely forgot about them. Now I long to grow flowers that had been part of my childhood/or the ones I’d grown years before (my pre-blogging days). This is one of them.

      Happy gardening!

      • Stephanie says:

        So far I have only seen one plant (yes one only) selling here but it was not in good condition. So, I didn’t get it. Seeds are not available locally here yet. I will definitely keep an eye on this plant ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the information!

  10. Lillebeth says:

    Iยดve never heard of “hollyhock”. So beautiful and worth waiting for. Thank you for sharing. Have a nice weekend!

  11. The Walking Iris seems to have a very interesting life circle! Quite beautiful too!
    Happy Weekend!

  12. bjorgnin says:

    Heisann!
    Nice to see your beautiful pink flower and some more!
    Wish you happy Easter!

  13. wendy says:

    Such pretty blooms! We buy amaryllis bulbs in November and pot them up inside to bloom for Christmas. Your walking iris sounds interesting – nice pic too.

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, thanks! It’s strange how the same plant has different blooming cycles. How lovely to have them blooming around Christmas time. Here we don’t associate them with the colder season. It’s mostly after the rains, or after the first rains!

  14. First blooms definitely warms your heart! The Amaryllis looks peaceful and Hollyhock! Boy, it looks lovely. I never knew Irises grew in India. May be they do in colder parts? Hope you had a great weekend.

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Chandramouli, the walking iris is a native of Brazil so it does well in our humid climate. Glad you liked the photos. Hope you have a great week.

  15. Autumn Belle says:

    Very very lovely blooms, Kanak. Have a great weekend.

  16. a beautiful series ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Andrea says:

    hi Kanak, it looks like we both took some extended vacation. I remember coming here with the same old post, then i also took some time out. And i am also back. Most of your plants are of the temperate climes, but that amaryllis looks like mine except that mine is orange. However, mine only blooms once a year when the rains come after the dry season. I haven’t seen that color here yet.

  18. Susie says:

    Hi Kanak, Just checking on you. Hope you and your family are okay.

  19. Mildred says:

    Kanak, I worry when I don’t hear from you. I pray that all is well. I am taking a long break from blogging, but you can reach me at email @ oldmissy@hotmail.com. Sending a hug and a prayer to you.

  20. noel says:

    aloha kanak,

    love your post on the various tropical blooms in your garden, i love your white amaryllis.

    btw, i have a tropical meme called the hot, loud and proud meme this friday, i hope you can join us ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. andrea says:

    Hi Kanak,
    I still love the Hippeastrum wherever it is growing. Here they flower only after the rain, so they are always first blooms, and after that all green, then die and flower again. Happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

