White Blooms

There was a profusion of white blooms all around us in April and May. I’d like to share some of them here. The first ones were taken in my parents’ backyard in April. Belonging to the ginger family, the fruit and the tender stems are edible. Although I have googled, I’m yet to come across its correct name.

With the rains coming early this year, the rivers were in spate. But the journey back to Guwahati had these scenes along the way. White blooms filled the jungle route. The view below was taken from a small wayside eatery where we stopped for a delicious lunch of rice, fried potatoes, dal (lentil), and a simple pork curry thickened with rice flour.

And in my  backyard the white Butterfly Pea/clitoria terneta alba is blooming. The blue-coloured ones are a common sight so I’m happy that I’ve got this one too.

The *star* of my potted garden now is this variety of jasmine, Belle of India (elongata). The fragrance is divine.

Even this weed has joined the crowd! The blooms were so pretty that I didn’t have the heart to pull it out.

To everyone who stopped by and left your words of strength, thank you once again. Wish you all a wonderful week!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to White Blooms

  1. joey says:

    Hello, dear Kanak … delighted to see you back posting. Your second photo is breathtaking! (((Hugs)))

  2. islandgal246 says:

    Glad to have you back Kanak. I missed you! That jasmine I must have. I am going to surf the web for seeds .

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Helen! I hope you get the seeds. You’ll love this jasmine. Some varieties tend to be over-powering (I’m thinking of the Pink jasmine) but this is just right. It’s lovely to be back too!

  3. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Thank you for sharing these unique blooms with us. The Belle of India is so pretty. I have missed your extraordinary photography. Each time I see a dragonfly or butterfly in our garden, I am reminded of you and your friendship. I keep you and your Mom in my heart and prayers.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred…your words always warm my heart. I’ve just posted on many of the insects in my yard. I’m so happy to be remembered this way. But so far I haven’t been very lucky with butterflies. Not in capturing them but in the number of species. The more colourful ones have stayed away. I guess they’re taking their time:)

  4. Susie says:

    Lovely whites Kanak. I really like the Belle of India. It just looks like it smell wonderful.

  5. arati says:

    i’m delighted to see you back in action kanak! you were missed!
    take care, arati

  6. Titania says:

    Dear Kanak; I am glad to see you back. All the white flowers are divine looking, even the little “weed” flower is pretty and worthwhile to be appreciated.The first one looks orchid like but my vote goes to the jasmine as I very much love scented flowers.
    Kanak, memories stay forever. Hugs Trudi.

    • kanak7 says:

      So true, Trudi. I’m glad to know you enjoyed my post on white blooms. I’ll be posting later on the blooms/plant of the ginger family. I also have “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” and of course they always remind me of you:)

  7. lotusleaf says:

    Delighted to see your post at last. The beautiful white flowers are a fitting post . I saw the slender tree with the pretty white flowers , shown in the second photo, in Himachal. It is a White Locust, I believe.

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks, Padma. Some stretches of the route looked so lovely with these blooms. I’m glad I got the name! And every time I come across such beauty, you and the blogging/gardening fraternity come to mind:)

  8. Stephanie says:

    Love the white blooms in the first pix is pretty! I have seen a real white clitoria. It is nice to see the bloom in pix here. Oh that weed is pretty also (like lantana)!

  9. Rosie says:

    Beautiful white blooms Kanak especially the first one. You sure have nice weeds native wildflowers lol! Someone in the UK probably cherishes that plant in their garden and tells everyone that its a rarity.

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie, I know. Sometimes reading about primroses growing wild in colder climes makes me think about the time I bought one and treated it like royalty!Lol!

  10. Autumn Belle says:

    Kanak, I am delighted to see you up and about and to find your blog filled with activity again. The whites are lovely here. I am also growing an angelwing jasmine in my garden. Your wildflower in the last picture looks like lantana to me. I am yearning for the white clitoria ternatea that you have. If you have excess seeds, can you please mail me some? I only have the blue ones.

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, it’s wonderful to re-connect with everyone after a pretty long gap. The seed pods aren’t mature enough now. Soon I’ll dry them for you and send them across. I hope they do well in your garden. The blue ones are very common here too , but the whites, not so.

      Have a great gardening week!:)

Leave a Reply

