Garden update

The last of the tomatoes sit pretty on my kitchen table. Since I don’t have enough space to plant different kinds of vegetables, I stick to a few varieties and these are much looked forward to every year. The harvest has never been disappointing.

The narrow strip of soil on the western side of our plot, leading to the back of the house is where I plant them. The plants are on the right. The narrow bed on the left had salvias and gladioli. This photo was taken in February.

Fresh pickings from my sole papaya tree. The fruit may be small but they are sweet.

My double-petalled hibiscus blooms most part of the year. This red warms my heart!!

There seems to be colour everywhere. Even this bit of dead wood from the mango tree. Not the usual pale fungi but one sprouting shades of orange.

After the winter lull, the Mussaenda’s all set to add that element of cheer to my yard.

The Cardboard palm/zamia furfuracea in a neglected part of the yard. There’s a lot needed to be done but the mosquitoes are ready to tear me apart. Seeing these tender green new leaves, I marvel at what magic the rains can create.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Garden update

  1. Titania says:

    Kanak; the garden looks lovely, happy and productive as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the little munching and chomping creatures. Fascinating to observe them.

  2. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, That hibiscus is such a pretty color. We are tormented by mosquitoes also! Hope you have a nice weekend.

  3. lotusleaf says:

    Your narrow garden is very productive. The tomatoes look so appetising!

  4. Autumn Belle says:

    That’s a neat and tidy kitchen garden you have here. Tomatoes and papaya – fruits and vege, that’s a good, healthy harvest.

  5. Stephanie says:

    That plate of tomatoes is wonderful! Disappointing harvest? Doesn’t look that way to me… happy cooking the tomatoes yeah.

    The double-petalled hibiscus is the winner!! I have not seen such a healthy hibiscus flower for such a long time. The intense red warms my heart as well ;-D Btw, it is always a joy to see mussaenda blossoming like that also.

Leave a Reply

