The Hot, the Loud and the Proud!

I’m most excited to see and share my orchids blooming for the second time. I got a budding plant in April last year and tied it up on the Betel nut tree.Although the colour isn’t bright, the sight of these blooms brighten up my days 🙂 And  the pollinators’ as well.Not knowing the name of these blooms, I refer to them as Inverted Commas.

This is my entry for The Hot, The Loud And The Proud meme hosted by Noel of A Plant Fanatic In Hawaii. Please click on the link to see other exotic blooms and gardens from around the world.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Hot, the Loud and the Proud!

  1. Stephanie says:

    They look like elephant heads with their trunks lifted up! Just following your imagination he he… The spike of blooms is gorgeous Kanak! Good job.

  2. Rosie says:

    Inverted commas indeed! They are wonderful plants. One flush of blooms would be great but to have two is fantastic. I’ve never seen an orchid like this before.

  3. islandgal246 says:

    Gorgeous blooms and they look like tiny Donald duck heads :-)). I am going to post my hot, loud and proud post now.

  4. Mildred says:

    The sight of those orchids would make my heart leap with joy Kanak. Thank you for sharing your blossoms with us. They do look like commas!

  5. ellada says:

    Beautiful orchids blooming.

  6. Shailaja says:

    It’s a comma, it’s an elephant’s head, it’s a Donald Duck……it’s multidimensional…….., and it’s a beauty!

  7. noel says:

    aloha,

    i love your interpretation and then everyone else’s guess, they look like some type of mix, i cannot tell since i could not see the leaves…i’m blinding guess some type of dendrobium

  8. lotusleaf says:

    They are the blooms of Aerides crispum, a native of India. They flower every year in this season. They are called Draupadi Dande in Kannada, because according to folklore, Draupadi of Mahabharata wove these garlands when she was living in the forest for 12 years!

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, I’m so happy to get the name! Thanks a TON!!! I looked up Wiki and read up on this species. I’ll add the name later. Thank you once again. And about Draupadi weaving garlands out of these…wow, that’s new to me!

  9. Susie says:

    Never have grown orchids. Those are so beautiful Kanak!

  10. Randy says:

    Kanak,
    These are really beautiful, glad you learned the name and a little folklore too! Just bought Meg an orchid from the big box store this one has 3 bloom stalks, most have only 1.

Leave a Reply

