A Unique Vegetable And Garden Critters!

The blooms I had posted on my post titled White Blooms belongs to the ginger family and is much favoured by all kinds of bees! Regular readers might remember the whit and yellow orchid-like blooms. The second photo shows the plants in my parents’ garden. They weren’t looking their best then. The rains hadn’t worked their magic, yet!

As you can see from the picture the leaves look like those of the galangal . As for the smell, it’s the same you would get if you handle (uproot, re-plant) the Butterfly Ginger. The third picture shows the fruit of this plant. Don’t they look like tiny little bananas? Please click on the picture to see the details. The smell of the vegetable is strong. The tender shoots are edible too. They are white with a pinkish tinge at the base.

Most backyards are a veritable treasure-trove of wildlife. I was surprised to see this exotic moth resting on a leaf and then on the bamboo fence. It isn’t unusual to see all kinds of moths but this orange beauty with those fancy antennae looked like the ballerina, nay, the diva of moths! The other day-flier was so well camouflaged that I almost missed it. Looking up www.thaibugs.com, I found out that it’s a Geometrid/fascellina plagiata.

And I found the sunbird one morning pecking at the seedheads of the Malabar spinach/basella alba. Although the picture is blurry, I wanted to include it. I find sunbirds fascinating. The black ones like to feed on the Ixora but these yellow ones love the canna lilies, and of course, the berries of the Malabar spinach. The last photo is a close-up of the unripe, rain-drenched seedheads taken this morning. When they ripen, I hope several birds make it a point to stop by….

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in birds, Vegetable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Unique Vegetable And Garden Critters!

  1. Mildred says:

    When I click and enlarge I am amazed at your photos Kanak. Such an interesting post today. Thank you for sharing your pictures with us.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, I was trying out some of the features and ended up with a page like that! I think I’d better stick to my usual layout!:) Glad you liked them.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    I enlarged each photo and was fascinated by every one. The moth is stunning, its legs are long like an athlete’s.

  3. Beautiful pictures…

    Thanks:)

Leave a Reply

