A Random Post

My heart leaps up when I behold…..and every year the excitement is the same!! But seeing the first ripe ones reinforces my faith in gardening and in all gardening-related activities. Yes, it’s the Indian Blackberry, the oldest tree in my yard.

An annual summer ritual…the ripening of the berries. I’ve written about them before. Two posts are here and here.

The tiny white bloom of the Houttuynia cordata which is a herb and widely consumed in our region. The plant likes damp, shady areas, does well in clay soils and has a pungent smell. In other parts of the world where it is not consumed, the plant is grown as a ground cover.I found this ladybird on one of the many blooms of the Bitter Gourd plant. The creeper is doing pretty well and I harvested  my first half dozen.A tender bitter gourd. Please g-r-o-w!!Most of us grow ferns but this variety is edible and popular in our region. In Assamese it is known as Dhekia. The fern/diplazium esculentum grows in damp, shady areas and is considered to be highly nutritious. Studies show that its protein content is next to the soya bean. The findings of the research was published in the Indian Journal of Plant Genetic Resources in the lead article titled Nutritive Values Of Five Wild Edible Ferns Of North East India. Steamed ferns are a good addition to various combinations of summer salads. We also stir- fry them with green chillies, garlic and thinly sliced ginger.Now I know the name of the orchids I’d posted a few days ago . Lotus Leaf (Padma) of garden tropics has provided the name. It is Aerides crispum. To see the details and her post on this orchid please click here. She has an amazing collection of plants and many delightful posts on the blooming trees/plants of the season. Thank you, Padma.

I’ll be away again for ten days or so. I’ll be spending some time with my mom and other members of my family. I won’t be able to respond to your comments during this period. Hope to see you soon! Have a great week!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers, Vegetable and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Random Post

  1. Susie says:

    I enjoy seeing all of these exotic looking plants Kanak.

    I hope you have a good visit with your family.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    So many unknown plants! I didn’t know that some ferns are edible. Thanks for mentioning my blog in your post. Have a peaceful time with your mother.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I know that edible fern! Delicious when stir fried in spicy sauce. Hey, your garden is amazing. You have both vege and ornamental plants. And all growing so well! Btw, that bitter gourd looks really ‘fierce’. Must be really bitter in taste ha ha…

  4. islandgal246 says:

    Is the Indian blackberry same as Jamoon? Wow edible ferns how interesting. See you when you get back and have safe trip.

  5. Mildred says:

    Beautiful and unusual plants today Kanak. The fern and the gourd are both amazing. That is so interesting about the protein content of the fern. The blackberries are so colorful. I wish you safe travel and blessings to you and your family, especially your Mom.

  6. Rosie says:

    Fantastic photos Kanak and so much to learn from your writings aswell. I grow Houttuynia cordata so I can now eat the flowers!

    Have a lovely time with your family and especially your mum – she needs you very much.

  7. Autumn Belle says:

    Even a random post can reveal so many lovely things. The bitter gourd has a queer shape and so does the orchid but they a beautiful in their own way. Have a great weekend and an enjoyable time with your family members. I’m sure your mom will be delighted to see all of you.

  8. Diana says:

    Kanak, a most unusual Blackberry specimen, as ours come on a thorny bush. I think I would prefer yours. 😉

    Do have precious moments with your mom and family!

  9. andrea says:

    Hi Kanak, i hope you have a productive and happy moments with your family. The crops you posted are common here too, excluding the white flower, which i am not familiar with. The Indian blackberry we call duhat here in Tagalog, or Syzygium cumini. We climb these trees as children and our shirts get unremovable stains. I love eating that fern as salad also. That Aerides I also have in my garden in the province, but suffered this dry season.

  10. Titania says:

    Hi Kanak, It is so very interesting to see such exotic (to me) edibles. What a great variety is out there to be harvested and eaten, not only cauliflower and Brusselsprouts!

  11. Zindagi says:

    Dear Kanak

    Interesting post! loved the orchids.

    and guess what just had Ferns in lunch. They are so tasty and nutrient. We call it “Lingari” here. We also make pickle of this fern.

    love and regards

  12. Tatyana says:

    Hi Kanak! I like the taste of cooked fern. I used to eat it when I lived in Russia.

Leave a Reply

