Scenes From The Rainy Season

Rain-bearing clouds cover the hilltops overlooking my hometown.

There’s beauty in every season. But more so during these monsoon months. It’s a yearly ritual that Mother Nature celebrates and how contagious the celebration can be is evident from that refreshing green that’s all around. It pours down in torrents and suddenly waterfalls in all shapes and sizes make their appearance  as they tumble from the hills down to the gorge and then to the rivers below. All the rivers are in spate. Browned and muddied by the soil let loose with all the fury of the monsoon rain. There are landslides and the fear of the roads being blocked….But as for blooms and plants, they luxuriate in all that rain!
Lush vegetation all around. It’s a pleasure to take this route, even if it is long (and winding). We drove  (my brother was at the wheel) 300 kms through vast flatlands and then hilly terrain. With the rain and bad roads it took us a little more than 9 hours to get to my mom’s.

Lilies which bloom in June. When my dad said his final goodbye the red amaryllis lilies were in full bloom.

Broom grass, fern and moss vie for space on stone walls. The plant with the blue blooms is the Porter weed which grows in abundance in the area.Insects abound. I found this Long-horned grasshopper in my parents’ backyard.Four o’clock blooms are a common feature on roadsides too.

A variety of clerodendrum  (C. intermedium) growing in the midst of weeds. I came across this variety at Andrea’s blog. Here’s the link

http://abagillon.blogspot.com/2010_05_01_archive.html

Please take a look around at all the wonderful plants at Andrea’s. The jungle beyond as we head towards the flatland. Please click on the photo for a better view.Hill turmeric growing in the wild. The pretty pink blooms awash with rain near the road. Looking at these blooms, I wonder what amazing sights await in the forest. We only stop near the roadsides, always in a hurry thinking of the long drive. But a short break from the journey opens our eyes to treasures that we would otherwise have surely missed.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Scenes From The Rainy Season

  1. lotusleaf says:

    The red clerodendrum is such a contrast to the green all round. Beautiful pictures, all of them!

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, I saw several clumps after I took those photos:( I’m making a list of all the bloomers and the months. By the end of this year I’ll know what to look out for as I take that route again.

  2. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak I am glad that you and your brother made it safely to your mom and I hope she is doing well. I also welcome the rainy season with tremendous joy. Happy that I won’t have to water my garden and that the transformation from parched brown fields to verdant pastures. It is like a rebirth. This greenery is ambrosia for the soul.

  3. Susie says:

    What a beautiful drive Kanak! Ya’ll were probably tired at the end of your trip but it looks like it was well worth it.

  4. Autumn Belle says:

    It is wonderful what a the rain can bring. I am surprise you can find so many beauties among the wild terrains of this hilly region, especially the so beautiful crinum lily. That long horn grasshopper looks like a pale green round bottle.

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, all the blooms are in the wild but the crinum lilies are from my mom’s garden. The grasshopper is huge and it’s only the second time that I got the chance to photograph it.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Oh gosh that grasshopper! err… had a happy meal?

    Love those gorgeous lilies. They certainly put a smile to a face.

    Thanks for providing glimpses of the great forest. I am sure there will be lots of really beautiful plants to discover. Btw thanks for your comment on canna. For now, it is still easy to take care and keep the house clean all the time 😀

  6. wow that little grasshopper is so photogenic and so unusual for me. Everywhere looks so lush and green and that cleodendron just jumps out of the photo at me.

  7. wendy says:

    What a long drive! But such a beautiful one full of lush green plants. I would love to come and visit your country one day. I find it intriguing – the seasons, the plants.

    I too love lilies and amaryllis. The red one will always be special for you. My brother had pink and orange lilies on his casket when he died 8 years ago.

    I hope you and your family are holding up o.k.
    Sending hugs and prayers to you

  8. wendy says:

    Sorry, didn’t mean for that comment to sound so gruesome. I just wanted to say how beautiful lilies are no matter what the occasion. And the ones my sister-in-law chose were absolutely lovely.

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, not gruesome at all!! I’m glad you mentioned it because I was wondering whether you use only white blooms during a funeral. Now I know. There were many flowers that others brought but at home only the red amaryllis were abundant.

      I hope you’ll visit my country some day. You’re welcome to stay with me here in Guwahati. My family’s doing ok. And my mom, bless her, is spending her time reading and resting. She’s 68 and her knee isn’t too good.

  9. Mildred says:

    I’m happy to hear that you and your brother had a safe drive and I know to view these beautiful flowers along the way helped to make the trip more interesting. These are such pretty pictures and I thank you for sharing them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, despite the rain, there were no glitches on the way. Blogging has opened my eyes to the beauty of nature…and to blooms and names and habitat. Although I’ve travelled this route a hundred times, it’s only now that I know exactly in which area what species thrive.

  10. jess carvalho says:

    Its beautiful beautiful.. just to see your blog.. thank you .. for taking me to places i could never afford or have the money for … to see.. before i go…
    have a nice day ..
    jess

Leave a Reply

