Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, June 2010

Welcome to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom day! I was away visiting my family and these photos are from my hometown. There are a lot of white and cream-coloured blooms this season.

The fan-shaped cluster of blooms of the Areca catechu, a species of palm found in Asia, Africa, and the tropical Pacific region.

Mussaenda frondosa is a tropical shrub that grows to 5 mtrs in height. It grows in the wild and during this season, the roadsides are covered with these blooms. This is a plant with medicinal properties. In Hindi, the plant is called Bedina.

The dance of the rain lilies/Zephyranthes candida.

Clerodendrum chinense, another plant that grows wild in the area.

A wild bloom from the wayside.A rain-battered bloom of the Teasel gourd.

More battering by rain… the striking red fruit of Elephant Ears.

Wild blooms from trees that grow in abundance in this town.Musa velutina or Pink Banana. Because the fruit is fuzzy, it also goes by the name~Hairy Banana. A native of Asia, the tree grows to a height of 4-6 ft.

To see more blooms from across the world, please visit Carol @ May Dreams Gardens.

Happy Bloom Day, everyone!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, June 2010

  1. lotusleaf says:

    The pink hairy banana is very interesting. I think the red wild flower in picture 5 is called Lion’s Ears. I used to see them in Orissa.

  2. islandgal246 says:

    I have never seen elephant ears bloom and that is very interesting. I will now have to look closely at mine. It is a wonderful collection of wild bloom photos you have complied Kanak.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen, thanks! I had one clump growing wild here which bore fruit last year. Prior to that I never realized they had such vivid red fruit!

  3. Birdy says:

    Another beautiful series of blooms Kanak. Clerodendrum chinense is cultivated with us as an ornamental plant. I was not aware of its English name before. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Megan says:

    Your photos are fabulous! The palm in bloom is my fave 🙂

  5. Kanak these plants names and blooms are so new to me. We grow areca palms here as house plants so its so good to be able to see how they bloom in their natural habitat. I also didn’t realise that rain lillies came in different colours – I thought that it was just pink.

    I love seeing wildflowers – years ago I never appreciated their beauty but I do nowadays and yours are so different to ours. 🙂 Rosie

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie…same here. While travelling I’m always on the lookout for wild blooms. I’m so thankful that blogging has made me appreciate everything around me much more than I’d even thought of.

  6. Mildred says:

    Hello Kanak, It is such a treat to see the blooms around your hometown. I love those rain lilies especially. I know your Mom loved you visiting with her. Hope you are doing well. Is it very hot where you are?

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, glad you liked the photos. It was’t hot there mainly because of the rains. It’s extremely pleasant and we needed light woollens. But back home here in Guwahati, it’s humid!

      We’re good and my mom loved having us. We’ll be taking turns to spend time with her but this break was good for all of us.

  7. Valerie says:

    All of the plants I am not familiar with. It is nice to see what others grow in their part of the world.

  8. Stephanie says:

    Those red fruits! Wow! Amazing. Your hometown has such a fertile land and good condition for the plant.

    Oh that mussaeda is a beautiful. I didn’t know they have medicinal properties as well. What a great plant!

    Btw, is that pink banana edible? Can it be fed to the animals? Someone told me he tasted it before… ??? I was surprised.

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph, it’s easier to grow things there rather than in Guwahati. I did read online that the Pink banana is edible. But there are too many seeds and that’s what hold us humans back from devouring them:D About feeding to animals, I’m not sure.

      The leaves of the mussaenda frondosa are used as a herbal shampoo. Never tried it though. We use hibiscus leaves quite regularly.

  9. Sylvana says:

    I’ve never heard of hairy bananas. Do they taste like bananas? They are pretty regardless.

Leave a Reply

