Just Another Day In June

The month of June has a charm of its own. And although we complain about the humidity and the impending deluge, there are several other things to keep our minds off the not-so-pleasant-face of this month. The sight of the bloom above is synonymous with June. With all that bright orange, these ditch lilies provide enough cheer to my small garden.

Freshly plucked green mangoes from my one and only tree. Unripe mangoes are made into chutney. The photograph below is the cooked variety. Raw mango chutney is a mix of grated mango (peeled), sugar, salt, chopped mint, chopped green chillies and a drop of mustard oil. For me, this will forever remain the taste of summer.

Mango chutney- a sweet and sour concoction with oil, sugar, salt, and spices.Leopard lily aka blackberry lily bloomed this morning. I had planted it last year. This year it has shot up to about 5′ 6″ and towers above me:) So you can imagine how tall I am!!!And talking about blackberries, I picked a plateful of berries (jamun) from the tree. I wiped them dry and dunked the fruit in vodka. I use a variety of home-made liqueur as a topping for desserts. Banana happens to be my favourite.The liquor cabinet has a new addition.

I have photographed only a few butterflies this year. Looks like my yard has been taken over by the brown butterflies. The Common Palmfly and the Bush Brown (above) are common sights here.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Just Another Day In June

  1. walk2write says:

    The flowers, the fruit, the freshness of everything says summer. Your post says enjoy!

  2. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, I love the ditch lily and the blackberry lily. I can’t believe how tall your leopard lily has grown! The mango chutney sounds very tasty and so do the berries. What a delicious post today.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, I was surprised too….never expecting lilies to grow to that height. I think my soil is most conducive to growing lilies. Although I was away most of the time this year, my sons told me that the red amaryllis did pretty well too!

  3. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak I will be over for a drink and some chutney. What a delicious post. My mouth is watering. Those ditch lilies are they day lilies? Do they seed? I am looking for some day lilies that might bloom here, mine won’t bloom.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen….my pleasure:-)) About those lilies…they are, but they do not seed. They’ve been here since the past ten years. I’ve propagated them through bulbs only.

  4. lotusleaf says:

    Yes, like Helen’s my mouth is also watering! My friend Dechu makes a wine with the jamuns. Have you tried making it?

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, I haven’t tried making jamun wine but there’s a recipe that Helen passed to me last year. I’ll be trying that out. I just made rice wine and it’s come out well. Tastes like champagne!!

  5. Susie says:

    I can’t imagine unripe mangoes. They are one of my favorite fruits.

    Love the berry pic. Those berries look too pretty to eat.

  6. Stephanie says:

    Your leopard lily is really attractive! Oh those blackberries… yummy with vodka! I am sure the dessert is going to taste really good. Your mango chutney look good as well.

  7. Rosey says:

    Those berries remind me of my grandma. They look delicious. We used to pick berries together and make jam.
    Love that butterfly shot!

  8. seema gupta says:

    so eye catching pics of flowers and fruits..
    regards

Leave a Reply

