Blooms From My Sister’s Garden

One good thing about being in Guwahati is that one of my sisters also lives here. With homes and families of one’s own, it’s difficult for married siblings to meet up often but we do get together on all family occasions and otherwise too! We share a love for plants, and usually when I happen to be there, I go around her garden and click away at her plants. The pictures below are from her garden.

A common feature/fixture in most gardens here is the Ixora. A multi-branched shrub, it can easily cross 8 ft in height if not pruned. Although the Ixora comes in  colours like pink, white, and yellow, red and orange are most common. Ixora bushes attract a whole lot of pollinators. This is also known as the Jungle Geranium and the Flame of the Woods.

The Foxtail plant or Chenille plant/Acalypha hispida can be seen at the back.

Bleeding hearts, a vine that’s a prolific bloomer.A satyr rests on the Lobster Claw Heliconia. The bright inflorescence of the Heliconia  is a pretty addition to any garden. A native of South and Central America, the Caribbean, and the South Pacific, it doe very well in gardens here.Ground cover– green and mint-like. I don’t know what it’s called.From the herb patch, a much-loved specimen from the basil family.

The bloom of the Teasel gourd. I had posted a rain-battered picture for GBBD. Here’s an unblemished one.

The tiny gourd which will soon grow to be a summer vegetable that we relish during these rain-drenched and at times, almost unbearable, months.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Blooms From My Sister’s Garden

  1. islandgal246 says:

    A very pretty garden your sis has Kanak.

  2. Kanak your sister has some great blooms in her garden – I especially love the foxtail plant – chenille is just the perfect way to describe it – Its so tactile and soft to touch. We used to have a cherry red one as a hanging basket plant. Its little tails got quite long too – I’m sure it looks quite impressive in your sisters garden. That little moth picture is cool!

  3. Mildred says:

    Thanks to you and your sister for sharing her pretty blooms with us. The bleeding heart vine is my favorite and of course, I love to smell th fragrant basil.

  4. Susie says:

    I love that lobster claw plant. It almost doesn’t look real.

  5. joey says:

    Lovely, Kanak … sisters are the best! Thanks for sharing.

  6. lotusleaf says:

    Your sister has the same plants that I have! Lovely shots! Have a nice day!

  7. Stephanie says:

    The orange ixora looks like Bauhinia Kockiana. I thought it was thi s flower. The ixora is beautiful!

    Love her bleeding heart as well. And the lobster claw is what I envy. I wish I have this plant but my garden just couldn’t accomodate now.

    Have a great day!

  8. Autumn Belle says:

    Your sister’s garden has quite a number of lovely blooms. I wonder if the mint looking plant is edible?

  9. wendy says:

    What a lot of pretty and exotic-looking plants! I love your sister’s garden!

  10. Mildred says:

    Kanak, Thank you for the update on your son. Congrats to him on being admitted to college in Delhi. I know you are very proud of him. I missed you while you were away. Thanks for your visits/comments. Sending a hug across the miles, Mildred

  11. Dove says:

    Love your flowers and the photos are beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
    Stop by and visit.
    Dove

Leave a Reply

