A Tragic Day

Sunday… July 4. It started off like any other day. Normal. Then a call came at 9.40 in the morning. It was my niece saying that her dad was going to be hospitalized. And that my sister had called an ambulance. We rushed to the hospital where doctors were trying to resuscitate Dileep (my brother-in-law). By 11 AM we were told that it was all over. It was so sudden and so shocking that we’re still numb from the loss of  a family member who was such an affectionate husband/father/son-in-law, brother-in-law, and much more.

It was a sudden cardiac arrest that snatched him away from us. My heart goes out to my sister and her three children aged 15,13, and the youngest, who’s 2 years & 5 months. Everyone’s trying to cope with the loss but it’s hard…It was too sudden, and too soon. Dileep was only 49. The family is together now at this difficult time. It was only last month that we had got together for my father’s last ritual. As we grieve, we can’t help thinking about the “ifs” and the “whys”. I hope God gives strength to my sis to carry on…..

Dileep was a wonderful human being. A dentist by profession, he married my sis (a doctor) 17 years ago. He loved to travel and photography was his passion. He exercised regularly and watched his diet. It’s hard to think that such a person could go so soon. As for his son who came just two years and five months  ago, he’s perplexed that whoever took his dad away hasn’t sent him back till now….

The photo above is of the Orange Jasmine, the only white blooms in my garden now. Regular readers of this blog might remember the pictures of blooms I had posted from my sister’s garden.

I hope to visit you all soon although posting might not be regular now.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Tragic Day

  1. Mildred says:

    My deepest sympathy Kanak to you, your sister and the family. In the days to come, may God be with you all and give you peace that passeth understanding.

  2. Kanak I am so sorry to read this tragic news today. My prayer for you and your family is that the Lord will comfort you all as you mourn the tragic loss of Dileep.

  3. Susie says:

    Kanak I’m so sorry to see this news this a.m. I will be praying for your sister and the whole family.

  4. islandgal246 says:

    Oh Kanak, words alone cannot describe the pain I feel for you and your family. I am heartbroken to hear that you and your sister have to go through this painful period in life. We all love you and send our deepest condolences to your family. Hugs to you and your sister, remember our arms surround you whenever you feel the need for a hug.

  5. Joey says:

    Please know my thoughts and prayers are with you, dear Kanak. Years ago, my sister was widowed at 30 with 4 little children (her husband, a dentist also). I feel your sorrow … I am still heavy hearted loosing my other sister last summer and my brother 10 years ago.

  6. lotusleaf says:

    Oh Kanak, 49 is too young to go. What a catastrophe for your family so soon after the loss of your father! You must be a pillar of strength and support for your sister in her hour of terrible loss. My heartfelt condolences to her and your family.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Kanak, sorry for what happened. I can understand that it’s not easy for your sister. May she find courage to face the sudden loss. This expression of grief and sympathy is a comforting one. Take care yeah.

  8. Autumn Belle says:

    Kanak, I am so sorry to hear about this sudden sad news. It must have been very hard on your sister as this is a harsh reality which is very difficult to accept and comprehend. I pray that she will find the strength to get over this heavy loss and I know that she will need your care and support all the more during this period of immense grief. Do take care of yourself too. May God be with you and your family to help you tide over this.

  9. Jeanne says:

    It’s terrible that your family has suffered tragedy twice in a short period. Our thoughts willl be with your sister, you and the rest of your family.

  10. I’m so sorry to read this. My thoughts are with you and your family. I hope you find comfort where you can — in God perhaps, or the natural world. Take good care,
    Elizabeth

  11. Fougères says:

    I am so sorry. I am half a world away, and don’t know you except through this blog, but your post really touched me. I am 49. I guess we never know when our time is. My heart goes out to you and your family, may you find comfort in what a good man he was and that you all were lucky to have known him. Blessings.

  12. Sara Hammond says:

    So sorry. So young. The jasmine is lovely and I feel like I can almost smell it just looking. Take time to grieve and play with the children who are not fully going to understand.

  13. birdy says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about this tragic event. My deepest sympathies to whole family.
    God bless him.

  14. wendy says:

    Oh Kanak, how tragic! I am so so sorry for your loss. Especially after just losing your dear father. My husband passed on July 3rd and now your brother-in-law on the 4th. Good men, gone from their families too soon.
    My heart goes out to your sister and her children. May they find comfort in family and in the garden.

  15. Sunita says:

    Kanak, I’m so sorry to read about this great loss for your family, especially for your sister. My deepest sympathies and heartfelt prayers.
    (I’m sorry … I’m catching up with a lot of my reading of past posts from preferred blogs just now. So its a shock to find a sad post like this in your blog now)
    Peace!

Leave a Reply

