As The Days Go By….

I’m spending most of my time with my sister and her children. It’s a blessing that the school summer break isn’t over yet and my nieces get to spend more time with their mom. Being there, the feeling that my brother-in-law might just walk through that door with a huge smile on his face, is still so strong…

Their front garden, especially in the Guwahati winters, was a place where we sat in the sun gorging on oranges or sipped tea with savouries. One corner of the garden has Mexican Oleander, Bottle Brush, the Coral Jasmine, and a gnarled guava tree. Birds love this area especially when the guavas ripened. Over the past few days, I’ve spent a great deal of time in the garden, especially when my little nephew was fast asleep in the afternoons.

Part of the front garden. It’s a mix of everything that does well under a hot sun with  few shade plants thrown in for good measure. With a look that verges on the wild, the pollinators are happy enough. The first picture is of an Emigrant butterfly feeding on the Ixora.

From amidst the Flax lilies these two cheery not-to-be-missed-blooms are yellow rain lilies/Zephyranthes citrina.

An Anthurium unfurls.

Fallen bloom. A Coral jasmine on a lily leaf.

Sunset bells complete the summer look.

The Ixora attracts a great number of pollinators but many weren’t still for the split second that I needed to capture them:(

But this variety of basil was no less! From this orange bee,

to the blue-banded bee,

a mating pair of the Psyche butterflies,

a Striped Albatross,

and an Emigrant butterfly…they all came to the basil. I’m sure I’ll see even more in the days to come.

Thank you for all your messages. And your comforting words. Connecting through blogging indeed is like therapy…for the heart and for the soul.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to As The Days Go By….

  1. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Your sister’s garden really is lovely. I hope in time she and her children will find comfort there in the garden among the plants that I am sure your brother-in-law loved so much. His passing was so unexpected that I am sure you are all in disbelief right now. I hope that each of you feel the prayers of those who have come to cherish you as friends through blogging.

    • kanak7 says:

      Oh Mildred…we do! I would not have imagined that such a thing could happen, that good and positive vibes, and healing, could come from halfway across the world. But we (me and my sisters…the youngest one came to stay for a week from the southern city of Chennai) can feel and it works like therapy. Thank you for being there….

  2. Kanak I am so glad that you are spending time with your sister and her girls just now. I’m sure every morning they wake up for a split second they wonder if the last few days have just been a dream.

    It sounds as if you have many happy memories from that beautiful garden and I’m sure recollecting those and sharing together will help you all in the grieving process.

    Your nature photography despite the little critters being so fast on the move is excellent. (((hugs))) Rosie

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie…thank you so much! Yes, every day we wake up with that thought or the thought crosses our minds during the day. My brother-in-law’s only brother and his family has given a lot of support too. My brother is also helping or being there with the bank and insurance related matters.

      We do have many happy memories. The number of my visits increased after the birth of my nephew and we’ve travelled together to our hometown too. You’re right about the grieving process…it helps that we can now share many anecdotes of our loved one rather than why he bid us such an abrupt goodbye. The garden will be part of the healing process. Hugs to you too!!

  3. wendy says:

    Your pics are exquisite as always. Jasmine is a special flower for me as that is my granddaughter’s name. I bought a Jasmine plant for her mother (my daughter) when she was born.

    Family is so important now. It’s good you can stay with your sister and her children. The first weeks are especially difficult.
    Hugs

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy…I’m touched that you stopped by, especially when you’re going through your own grief. Thank you for sharing this about your grandchild and the plant/bloom. I wasn’t so much into fragrance before but seeing all those gorgeous varieties of jasmine changed all that. Now I have quite a few varieties.

      Take care and I’ll catch up with you soon! My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  4. Kanak,
    The garden is so beautiful — it’s hard to believe there is such sadness there mixed in with the beauty. I have been thinking of you from so far away and sending you and your family my best wishes. Thank you for sharing the lovely photos and words.
    Elizabeth

    • kanak7 says:

      Dear Elizabeth….thank you so much for being here. I’ve found comfort in your words and the fact you stopped by a stranger’s blog and left your messages. So glad to know that you liked the garden and the photos. I’ll see you soon!

  5. andrea says:

    We move on with out lives though it looks like sadness comes to you a bit often. I am of the same circumstances though not in the immediate family but my cousins and cousins of my mother. In fact i will be going home tomorrow to the province for my cousins wake. But life goes on! I envy you for catching those butterflies beautifully as i seldom get that, although of course those are all here too. Also your plants are my plants too. However our flax lilies (i didn’t know it is called such) were not able to get through the long dry season, just like many fruit trees. More power to us and God bless.

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Andrea…so sorry to read about your cousins. I hope you’ll be able to spend some time there. sadness….yes, it’s only now that we’re coming to terms with the reality that my mom is alone. This tragedy was shocking to say the least.

      As for the butterflies, when three swallowtails (two Common Mormon and a Lime butterfly) came to feed on the Ixora, a car stopped, the doors banged, and my beautiful subjects flew away! Butterfly photography is sounding more like an angler’s tale of the biggest {and the most beautiful;-)))} that got away! Sigh!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Hi Kanak, sunset bells sounds better than the copper leaf 😀 Mine has grown some buds now and hope they will show off the yellow flowers soon. It’s a pretty!

    Those white butterflies look strange to me as the butterflies I spot in my garden have darker colours.

    Thanks for showing this beautiful garden and how supportive a sister should be 😉 Take care.

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph…you’re right about the name. I prefer Sunset Bells too:) Glad you liked the garden shots. Although there were brown and multi-coloured butterflies, they were too fast for poor ol’ me!:(

  7. birdy says:

    Your efforts and role toward your sister and her kids to make them out of this tragic incident are very important. It’s good that you’re playing your role very effectively. All the shots are excellent.

  8. Joey says:

    A beautiful post. Life is indeed about connecting souls, Kanak. I’m honored to know you.

  9. islandgal246 says:

    It is good that you are with your sister, please give her a hug from all of us. The garden is so beautiful and serene, a perfect place to meditate.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen…I just did! I spent half a day with her and just got back. All the formalities with the bank/insurance are happening. While there, I also take shots at the garden wildlife. It’s rich…to say the least! Happy to read your comment on the garden.

  10. mia says:

    Wonderful, I just love to watch your pictures, unfortunately not all to offen nowadays, I just can’t seem to find the time now in Summer.. But all those butterflies, one more beautiful then the other.. I saw one today, or actually it sat on my chest, not shy at all..no photo taken..
    My condolencens..

    • kanak7 says:

      Mia, my Blooming Friday friend…lovely to have you drop by. And thanks! A butterfly sitting on you–that’s supposed to be lucky!!

      Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

