Clerodendrum Incisum

I’ll be away for a week and may not be able to post regularly. I leave you with these pictures of the blooms of the Clerodendrum Incisum. Also known as Musical Notes, Morning’s Kiss and Witches’ Tongue, the blooms with the long stamens are very showy. I associate this with the brightness of the Sunset Bells, the purple of the Indian blackberries, and the tender green of the guavas. In other words, a regular summer feature.

But when I first bought the plant in the winter of 2008, there were a few blooms–so long and showy that I ended up bringing it home with me. And it has never disappointed. It grows in full sun, needs to be pruned every year and propagation is from cuttings and suckers.

The blooms last just for a day. I have never seen any butterflies here but the blue-banded bees love to buzz around these Musical Notes. All the pictures were taken earlier this year, in the months of May and June.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Clerodendrum Incisum

  1. Witches Tongue! I like that name. This beautiful clerodendrum is a favorite of mine, too.
    Take care,
    Elizabeth

    • kanak7 says:

      Elizabeth…with clerodendrum, I always feel that one is better than the other…! Do you grow the bleeding hearts?

      I hope you’re having a great week!

  2. Mildred says:

    Those are the sweetest blooms! I love seeing these new to me plants that you have and I know the bees must be something to watch. I will keep you and your son in my prayers dear Kanak. Have safe travel.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred…thank you so much! My son is already feeling better and we’re now at my cousin’s house. I’ll be here for a few more days…in Delhi, I mean.

  3. lotusleaf says:

    It looks just like musical notes. Does it grow into a big bush?

  4. Stephanie says:

    This flower is really special. Everytime you post the picture, it’s always a fresh liking. Those musical notes petals are so appealing. Have a wonderful time in your garden Kanak. Enjoy the beautiful works of your hands.

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph, thank you so much! I’m glad you love these blooms! Now you understand how I fell head over heels in love with these musical notes!;))

  5. Gill says:

    that is such a neat set of photos, it’s a flower I am not familiar with.

    Gill in Canada

  6. Rosie says:

    I prefer the name musical notes anyday to witches tongue – its exquisite kanak.

  7. Autumn Belle says:

    We call this the Do-Re-Mi flower. Yours are lovely and it looks nice when it is opened to reveal the long stamens. Have a great weekend!

  8. Autumn Belle says:

    Oops, Kanak, I’m sorry I typed in the wrong URL just now. This is the correct one to my site.

  9. sharmila says:

    i love gardening n i love plants (nature) … ur blog this post to is a pleasure to read … n i always love exotic flower but they hardly grow in Delhi’s hot wheather … otherwise my uncle too lives in Assam n brought many plants from his garden … !!

  10. noel says:

    aloha kanak,

    i’m also fond of all the clerodendrums including this one…funny i don’t that many butterflies here also, although we are limited with the variety of butterflies here on the island.

Leave a Reply

