Dragonflies And Other Garden Wildlife

Although I haven’t been able to post often in the past month, I have been taking several pictures all across my yard and at my sister’s as well. All the pictures in this post were taken towards the end of July. The Coral-tailed Cloud Wing is one of my favourites! Not only does it look gorgeous with those blue spots on the delicate wings but it stays forever on the same plant or branch. With other dragonflies it’s always a game of fly-and-seek.

I found this cutie on the hibiscus bush. I took several shots before it decided we’d both had enough!!

A frequent visitor, and the kind that I photograph each year.

A crimson-tailed Marsh-hawk dragonfly.

One of the most unique beetles that I’ve found in my backyard is this one—the Golden Tortoise Beetle/Charidotella sexpunctata. This dazzler landed on the four o’clock leaf glittering like a jewel. Aptly named, as its shape does resemble a tortoise. It looks like a golden lady bird encased in a soap bubble.

Is that a green snake? No, it’s the caterpillar of a kind of Hawk Moth found feeding on colocasia leaves. I have seen other moth caterpillars on these plants in my backyard but none as spectacular as this! I hope I’ll be lucky enough to see the moth when it finally emerges.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Insects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Dragonflies And Other Garden Wildlife

  1. Mildred says:

    What incredible pictures today Kanak. I have never seen most of these before. Thanks so much for sharing today. Just so very interesting to see so many different and unique insects.
    I am happy to hear your son has improved.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, I’m usually out in my yard in the afternoons. I feel that’s the best time to see these unique creatures and I’m usually not disappointed.

      I’m planning to stay here in Delhi for some more days so that my son won’t relapse. The tests showed an increase in the platelet count so I can relax now. Thank you for all your prayers and your good wishes.

  2. Jeanne says:

    Remarkable insects and beautifully photographed. Do you have a zoom lens that lets you get so close? Can’t get over the caterpillar and tortoise beetle.

    • kanak7 says:

      Jeanne, I use a SONY Optical Steady Shot DSC-T500. No zoom lens here. I usually go close to the subject to take the shots. Even if dragonflies fly off, they have the tendency to come back to the same spot again and again. Of course, some shots take days!!! I do have a Canon, the 20X zoom but I still prefer using the Sony. Both were gifted to me by my husband, after I started blogging.

  3. Jeanne says:

    The markings on the side of the caterpillar look like paisleys. Would make a lovely border for a shawl.

    • kanak7 says:

      I know! Most designers say they get inspired by nature. Patterns from butterfly wings and so on. I agree the moth’s patterns will look good recreated on fabric.

  4. rosey says:

    You can see everything in this photos! The details are so clear….
    I enjoyed these dragonfly photos.

  5. Susie says:

    Well I have never seen such a neat looking beetle and I surely thought that was a snake. Hope I never see one of those up close.

  6. Beautiful pictures and I love the names of these creatures too! Coral-tailed Cloud Wing — sounds magical.
    I have never seen the hawkmoth caterpillar before, thanks for sharing her. We have lots of hawkmoths around here feeding on the Butterfly Gingers (Hedychium coronarium). They’ll give you quite a start in the evenings!
    Thanks and take care,
    Elizabeth

    • kanak7 says:

      Elizabeth, I love the name too! As for the hawk moths, now I know that’s what they look like. I’ll be keeping an eye on colocasia leaves from now on. My butterfly ginger plants aren’t doing well now…too much rain. I hope I’ll get the moths feeding there, some time in the near future:)

  7. Regina says:

    These are amazing and so the blooms on To days Flower.
    Have a lovely new week.

  8. lotusleaf says:

    That coral tailed cloudwing looks like it has borrowed wings from a fairy. Beautiful pictures. The soap bubble beetle is unique!

  9. Rosie says:

    Kanak what beautiful little creatures there are in your garden – I especially love the blue markings on that little dragonfly and that little beetle – it looks as if its encased in a raindrop.

  10. sharmila says:

    It’s wonderful to see so many different n amazing creature … love the dragon fly with blue spot … have seen many dragon fly but never to closely n never knew so much about them … and the turtle beetle – it’s so interesting !!

    It’s a pleasure to come to ur blog and get to know more n many things about nature πŸ™‚

    • kanak7 says:

      Sharmila, it’s amazing what one comes across whenever there’s greenery or blooms of some kind. I hope I’ll always find them;)

      Thank you for viewing and for commenting!

  11. Stephanie says:

    That little beetle and ‘green snake’ are so unusual. Never seen them before… Thanks for snapping these creatures πŸ˜€

  12. Joey says:

    Great dragonfly shots, Kanak! Have never seen anything like the Hawk Moth … never! Thanks πŸ™‚

  13. birdy says:

    Kanak, you have beautiful visitors to your garden. The coral-tailed cloud wing dragonfly is really gorgeous. Never observed it in our area. The golden tortoise beetle is also an interesting species.

  14. Andrea says:

    Hahaha Kanak, you seem to have a good camera capturing all those. I also hope to have a macro lens, because my telefoto is not big enough to get details. That beetle is so cute, so small yet you were able to capture the details. There is still a larva of colocasia which is even fatter than that one, but i don’t know if it’s a moth or a butterfly, as i can’t follow up when it pupates and metamorhose.

  15. Autumn Belle says:

    When I look at the beetle, I see the face of a cowboy inside a circle. That caterpillar certainly know how to camourflage itself.

  16. Diana says:

    Kanak, those dragonflies are beautiful, but the Coral-tailed Cloud Wing is exquisite. Interesting in that the dragonflies we see in the garden will generally stay still for long periods of time, but the butterflies this year seem to be excessively skittish.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  17. Great to meet you, Kanak, thanks to Mildred, who visited my blog [in Wales, UK] from hers in USA!

    These dragonfly photos are wonderful. You will see from my blog that I also like taking their pictures! The Golden Tortoise beetle is astonishing. Do you follow [or take part in] the Beetle [blog] Carnival? …

    http://aninordinatefondness.wordpress.com/

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Caroline…thank you so much for stopping by! Great to meet you too! Happy to know that Mildred, dear friend that she is, told you about me!

      I have never hear or taken part in the Beetle Carnival but now that I know about it, I’ll surely spend time reading up. Thanks for the link. I took a quick look at your blog and LOVED it! I’ll be spending time there catching up on your posts. Wales is a fascinating part of the world and I’m glad to be able to see more of it through your blogs.

      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

