Garden Update

The Leopard lilies are still blooming. They attract many bees, wasps, ants, and butterflies. I caught this one right after a heavy afternoon shower.


This solanum plant grows in my backyard next to the bamboo. I had posted the picture of the blooms some time back and some of you had wanted to know how big the plant was. As you can see from this photo, it is taking quite a bit of space. Wild plants, no matter how attractive the flowers may be, are definitely meant for the small garden. At times, realization comes a little too late:)


The flower and the fruit. The berries aren’t looking healthy.


Living it up on one of my okra plants is this little pest! Bed and breakfast, nay, all meals taken care of! If the bed is reduced to shreds, simply crawl over to the next green inviting leaf leaving a slimy trail behind!

Although I’m calling this post “Garden Update” these pictures were taken back home in the last week of July. Every year my guava trees (I have three of them now) bear an abundant havest. Enough to share with my neighbours and relatives, the birds and the butterflies. The brown butterflies, mostly Bush Browns are often seen feeding on fallen guavas. The fruit is very sweet.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Garden Update

  1. Rosie says:

    Oh Kanak that Solanum certainly takes up the space but I’m sure its in good proportion to the bamboo. I’ve learn’t that same lesson with some of my native plants aswell – some like to take over!

    The leopard lily looks charming with a glaze of water droplets on it.

    Isn’t it great to be able to share a harvest with so many. I’ve only ever tasted a little bit of guava in a fruit salad once and it tasted lovely. The guavas are classed as exotic fruits here and that shows in the price of them hence the reason I’ve tasted little of them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie…sharing is fun. I also get many other produce in return:) Exotic for me would be your pears and peaches. Although we get them here, fruits in our region tend to be acidic. Most of them, unlike the guavas, taste sweet only when they are over-ripe.

      Thank you for mentioning the lily. When I go back, I’ll be trying Refractive photography. Loved what I saw in your blogs.

      Happy gardening!

  2. Mildred says:

    I’ve never tasted guava. You must have the ideal climate to have such an abundance. That snail photo is great – he looks right at home on your okra plant!!! Hope this is the start of a good week for you Kanak.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, ideal climate, indeed. It’s a backyard/front-yard fixture in almost all homes in our parts. The ones with the pink flesh are also very delicious but I have never grown them. I hope your week is good too!

  3. Susie says:

    Wow you did have a great guava produce! Have you fixed/eaten guava jelly before? I have seen it but never have tried it.

    • kanak7 says:

      Susie, oh yes, I have. But my guavas usually end up eaten uncooked. I should be making some jelly. We get bottled ones which is why I never came around to making it!!! A friend of mine makes sauce. That tastes exotic!

  4. fini says:

    What a lovely garden!!
    BTW, Guava is my favourite fruit at all time!! I remembered eating guava shoots during my childhood ;p

  5. Joey says:

    Gorgeous Leopard Lily, Kanak … now, the pesky snail, another story 🙂

  6. Stephanie says:

    Kanak, your guavas are so round. The popular ones here have uneven surface and really crunchy. Yours look ripe and sweet. Is the flesh crunchy or soft?

  7. birdy says:

    This solanum species is now grown on commercial bases for greens (Saag). Though I never tested it’s greens. Its leaves juice together with some other ingredients is used to treat diarrhea and vomiting.
    Are your guava are red from inside? If yes, then they must be very sweet.

    • kanak7 says:

      Birdy, I was always under the impression that this variety was poisonous. This is new to me. There is another kind grown in our parts for its bitter fruit. The blooms in this plant, are purple.

      The guavas aren’t red (inside). The red ones grown here have a hard surface. But sweet!

  8. Mildred says:

    Welcome back home Kanak. I hope your son is much improved. Take care of yourself and as always, thanks for your visits/comments. Love to you and your extended family. Mildred

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, thank you so much! My son is fine now and I’m no longer worried about him as his appetite has come back. I enjoy visiting you and getting to learn so much from a part of the world that I may never see. A joy, really! Warm regards…always!

  9. rose gold says:

    Your leopard lilies are really looking great! They are gorgeous in the photo. I really hate slugs in my plants and these are really pest of a garden. I love your guavas it looks like yummy.

Leave a Reply

