Dragon Fruit


Dragon fruit with other tropical fruits on sale at a market in Singapore.

My husband was in Singapore recently to participate in the 8th Asia-Pacific Harmonica Festival & Competition. No, he didn’t take part in the competition. He’s brought a whole lot of photographs and there will a post on the event later. I wanted to share this picture of an amazing fruit, the Dragon fruit aka as Strawberry Pear. A new one for me. I googled to find out more about the plant. Amazing pictures on this site—

http://www.tradewindsfruit.com/dragon_fruit.htm

I hope you enjoy going through the pictures!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in fruit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dragon Fruit

  1. Mildred says:

    That is interesting Kanak. Love to see the photos and read the info provided. I look forward to hearing more about your husband’s visit. Have a good day.

  2. Rosie says:

    They sell this in our local supermarket – I was amazed the first time I saw it too – the colours are wonderful on the fruit – I wonder what it tastes like chilled and imagine using the flower buds as vegetables!- its too expensive here for me to buy plus I’m not very adventurous with new foods.

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie..wow, you do get all kinds of exotic food!! Reading all the comments, I’ve come to the conclusion that the kiwi fruit tastes better!:)

  3. Joey says:

    Lush fruit, Kanak … wish I could cyber taste!

  4. Susie says:

    Well I have never heard or seen one of these before Kanak. Those were some neat looking photos. It’s foliage reminds me of a Christmas cactus.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I never knew they are called strawberry pear. Come to think of that, the fruit does like a strawberry. Although taste is not as ‘deep’ as the strawberry but still taste great. I like it them cold. Nice fruit with lots of seeds 😀

  6. I was growing dragonfruit in my garden until this winter’s harsh weather — unfortunately, I lost mine. It is like a Christmas cactus, but spikier, I thought. I was growing mine in a tall cage, like a green bean cage, to keep the branches contained. It grew very fast. The flowers are so lovely – like a cereus. I may try again one day.
    Thanks for the post!

    • kanak7 says:

      Elizabeth…I hope you’ll be able to grow it again, some day. Seeing the pictures online, I’ve found the fruit/plant most fascinating. Despite being from the tropics, I’d never heard of it before. I’ll be on the lookout. Can’t say we’ll get it in our parts. Maybe when I travel to bigger cities. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  7. birdy says:

    A nice capture of fruit vender. Both the dragon fruit and star fruit are new for me. They look great and will certainly taste great.

    • kanak7 says:

      Birdy, the star fruit is common in our region too. They taste sweet when they are ripe otherwise they can be sour. They’re best for chutneys and pickles.

Leave a Reply

