Ah, Singapore!

My husband plays the guitar as well as the harmonica. So this opportunity of attending the 8th Asia-Pacific Harmonica Festival and Competition (30th July- 2nd August) was almost like a dream come true. A trip to the island nation to meet harmonica greats and participate in the workshop was an enriching experience. Truly something that must be repeated!! After two years! It’s a biennial festival hosted by the Harmonica Aficionados Society to promote international harmony while raising the standard of harmonica music at the same time.

A view of the beautiful city.

On the left is Tony Eyers, renowned Australian harmonica player, and Jean Labre ( middle, playing the instrument,) of France.

Brendan Power, another famous name, enthralls the audience.

These cute little participants are from China.

Three Indian participants from the city of Pune with my husband.

There were competitors of all ages. The practice session before the competition.

While at Singapore, DH accompanied by his friend, (another music lover) stopped to ask a man for directions. The gentleman happened to be Mr. Wu who very kindly accompanied them and showed them around. My husband tells me that it was most difficult to keep pace with a man who walked that fast! Not only did he show them around but he invited them to lunch the next day!!

Lunch was at one of the Tung Lok chain of restaurants, one of the finest in Singapore. The photo above shows Mr. Wu seated next to my husband, and his friends.

Later, they were joined by Mr.Wu’s elder brother. The food was most delicious, says DH, and the company was wonderful! Who’d have thought that a first-time visit to a city would have heartwarming memories to last a lifetime? Whenever I think about my husband’s trip to Singapore, it isn’t the Harmonica Festival that first comes to mind. It’s Mr. Wu and his kindness that already symbolizes a city I have never seen.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ah, Singapore!

  1. Autumn Belle says:

    That’s a great shot of Singapore’s skyline. You husband had a memorable trip and he met a kind gentleman and his kin. They are very hospitable and I’m sure it was an enjoyable journey.

  2. Mildred says:

    What an opportunity for your DH. I loved reading about Mr. Wu and his hospitality; how special he made the trip for your husband with his kindness. It’s a beautiful place and it must have been overwhelming to hear/see so many famous musicians. Thank you for sharing this trip with us. Wishing you a lovely weekend Kanak.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, overwhelming is the word! To see the big names and also to interact with them was wonderful. There were many Asian h. players there. So many talented musicians…The next festival will be in Malaysia. I hope I’ll be able to make it to that one:)

  3. Stephanie says:

    I wish I have a chance to be in Singapore again. I really miss that place. Everything is so clean and efficient 😀 I am sure your hubby miss your company in Singapore. Food for sure is so different there. He must have been thinking about your chutney etc. ha ha… Btw, thanks for the beautiful pictures!

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph, he loves Chinese food and to dine at one of the finest….!! It’s just that (unlike me;) he can’t remember the names of those exotic dishes! He was very impressed with Changi airport too!

  4. lotusleaf says:

    Singapore looks so shining clean! Amazing that such little children from China can play the harmonica well . It was very nice to read about the kindness and hospitality of Mr.Wu. Have a nice weekend!

  5. birdy says:

    Thanks for sharing the highlights of festival/your hubby trip. Nice to see your hubby pictures. What a handsome man he is!

  6. sharmila says:

    hi Kanak …. indeed it’s a lifetime memories n more over very good memories. Mr. Wu truely a gentleman … nice reading about the trip !!

    p.s. thanks for the address 🙂

  7. Rosie says:

    Dear Kanak

    I’m a little late in commenting here today as yesterday I spent the day in the garden. Your husband will always remember that dear man and the kindness he showed to him – may God bless that dear man – he gave wondeful hospitality to strangers. I love listening to anyone playing the harmonica – always wanted to as a child – my father in law plays one.

  8. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak I got goose bumps reading this. I am happy that there are a still people like Mr Wu left in this world. What an occasion! Makes me want to go visit these far off lands across the seas.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen…hearing about him has changed the notion about new, far-off places. Even in such cities one might come across a person with a heart of gold! I wouldn’t have thought this way before! God bless Mr.Wu!

  9. joey says:

    How delightful, Kanak! You must have been so proud of your husband 🙂 Thank you for sharing your rich life, dear friend. I see many beautiful pieces of life, that I might never have otherwise seen, through your keen eyes.

    • kanak7 says:

      Joey…I’m happy that he got the opportunity to take part in something that he enjoys. But Mr. Wu made the whole experience so much richer!

      Thank you so much for your kind words!

  10. Susie says:

    Looks and sounds like a great trip for him Kanak. That skyline picture is very pretty. Glad he made a new friend in Mr. Wu.

Leave a Reply

