Golden Thryallis



Golden Thryallis/Galphimia glauca is a tropical shrub that blooms almost throughout the year. The blooms are a bright yellow and small. But they attract a lot of pollinators. I often see the blue-banded bees buzzing around these blooms.

This multi-branched shrub grows to a height of about 6′ and is good for mass plantings and low hedges. But mine is growing in a pot and I keep the shrub pruned, never letting it grow beyond 2′. It’s one of those plants that do not need much care except for the occasional manure and of course, the watering.

The butterfly on the flower buds in the last photo is the Psyche butterfly/Leptosia nina. It’s a tiny butterfly commonly seen in gardens here and its flight is weak and close to the ground. But it’s always such a pleasure to photograph any winged creature on a bloom.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Golden Thryallis

  1. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, What a lovely shrub and a sweet butterfly. I am not familiar with either. I wish I had success with growing plants in pots, but I just don’t!

    You had commented about the dried apples in my last post. When I was a young girl, I would help my grandma slice apples thinly and then lay them on a screen in the yard to dry in the sun. Later during the cold months, she would use these apples to make the best apple pies!

    Have a good day friend.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, thanks ! My plants are safer in pots because we live in a low-lying area and the rains can create havoc.

      Glad to know about the dried apples. And how wonderful to think about yummy apple pies in winter…reading about food has always been fascinating for me. And there’s a lot about American food that I’ve come to know from your blog.

      Hope your week is good.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Lovely pictures. I didn’t know this name of the galphimia. There is a galphimia vine in my friend’s garden which is more beautiful than the shrub.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Although the flower of this plant is small, its bright yellow colour makes the flower really attractive. And I am sure it taste really good… the little butterfly can’t wait for the flower to open he he… Btw, good shot Kanak!

  4. Regina says:

    Love the cheerful color and such beautiful captures.
    Have a great day.

  5. Susie says:

    I’ve never heard of it before Kanak. How nice that it blooms almost year around.

    I like your new background. Looks great!

  6. What a beautiful butterfly, Kanak – it is like parchment and so delicately marked.

  7. I love thyrallis too! It sometimes freezes to the ground here but it always seems to come back in the spring.
    Thanks for your comment on celosias too. You’re right — we need all the little bits of grace we can get in August.
    Elizabeth

  8. Titania says:

    This is a pretty flowering bush. I do appreciate a long flowering season and hosts to butterflies and bees. I see my blue banded bees mainly visiting red and rose hued flowers. Does this happen , because I have not checked on the yellow ones?! Kanak, enjoy a nice week. T.

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi….maybe:) I’ve been observing these bees for quite some time now and they really aren’t particular about the colours. Here, they hover around these blooms, the Crepe Ginger (white) and those white Musical Notes. Maybe it varies from region to region.

      Here’s wishing that you have a great week too!

  9. Jeanne says:

    Kanak, I have the same plant. It flowers all the time, as you say, and then the flowers turn into tiny green pods/seeds. Does one need to keep cutting these pods off — which I’ve been doing so far — or can one just leave them to dry and fall off?

  10. Joey says:

    A cheery and beautiful post, dear Kanak 🙂

  11. birdy says:

    I love the arrow like petals of this flower. It’s interesting hear that this flower attract a lot of pollinators. I think photographers will love it more then the gardeners. It will provide you a lot of opportunities to captures amazing insects.

  12. leavesnbloom says:

    I’ve never heard of this plant before nor the little butterfly either. I’m amazed that you can keep your shrub flowering so well being so heavily pruned. You must have your pruning down to perfection!

  13. andrea says:

    Hi, so this is how this yellow flowered-plant is called. I see them too but don’t know it. I also often that butterfly and also dont know its name. thanks. beautiful

Leave a Reply

