Coconut Tree

Hello everyone! Sorry for the longer-than-intended break that I took. I know I should have told you all earlier. The extension and the renovation to our house is finally coming to its last stages. For months we’ve led a chaotic life and I’m glad that some sense of order has finally come. Also I’ve been away for a few days to be with my mother. More on that in my coming post.

Before I get back to my regular blogging here are some pictures of the blooms from my coconut tree. I’d like to thank everyone who stopped by and commented on my last post. The orchid looked even better a week after the first pictures were taken. Take a look.


Our skyline is dominated by coconut trees. And now that we are heading towards cooler weather, sunsets are suddenly turning dramatic.

When you think of the coconut tree, it isn’t the flowers that one thinks about. But with so many trees in the neighbourhood, one can’t help but notice the creamy inflorescences and the tiny bugs that hover around them.

Bon appetit…Mr. Wasp!


Still there….


And the orchid on the coconut tree looked its best a week after the first pictures were posted.

Have a great Sunday, everyone!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Coconut Tree

  1. arati says:

    i had no idea the creamy ‘swords’ were the flowers! and i’ve been around coconut trees forever!!
    the orchid looks great.

  2. Mildred says:

    Always so interesting to see the blooms in your part of the world Kanak. We missed you while you were away.

  3. leavesnbloom says:

    I missed you Kanak too. I’ve never seen a detailed photo of a coconut flower before. Do you collect the coconuts or do they just drop to the ground hopefully when no one is walking under them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie…the same here and I’ll surely be at yours soon:) My tree isn’t all that high so we can collect the nuts with the help of a ladder. But for the tall trees there are climbers who are very good at this job. Advice from elders is never to be near/under a coconut tree when the wind blows hard.

  4. Joey says:

    Beautiful/interesting photos, Kanak, the dramatic silhouette sunset, amazing! Delighted your life is settling down. Enjoy 🙂

  5. islandgal246 says:

    Hey Kanak nice to see you back. Coconut trees are sooo romantic…can you imagine a sunset without one? They add a bit of mystery and warmth to a picture. I now beginning to feel like drinking some coconut water. I am off to pick one now.

  6. Susie says:

    Hey Kanak, I don’t think I have ever seen a coconut bloom before. I think they are really interesting.

    Glad to see the orchid again. Very pretty.

    Glad to hear your home renovations are almost complete.

  7. Titania says:

    Hello Kanak; the coconut palm is so beautiful and very, very useful. There is perhaps not an other tree or palm where all its growing “bits” can be used in such a variety by people. I like to hear and see the huge leaves rustling and swaying or being completely still. When I was a child I did not like the taste of coconut, now I love it!
    The orchid looks gorgeous, the colour is brilliant.
    Have a nice week.

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Trudi…I hope your week is good too! I don’t think I’ll tire of reading about the uses of the coconut/tree. Nor get fed up of the ways the nut can be used in cooking!!

  8. lotusleaf says:

    nice to see your post after so long! I hope the renovations to your house are satisfactory.

  9. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your blog is so lovely! I love the blue bnded bees, we do not have them here! Also all your plants and insects, I’m enjoying the lizard! What is that outdoor acchitccture at the harmoniuca fesitval, it reminds me of one of the buildings in Australia?

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny…thank you so much! I’m so glad Mildred introduced you to my blog and now I’m looking forward to reading about more aspects of life in your country through your eyes. The photos in Singapore were random shots taken by dh while touring the city so he doesn’t really know.

  10. Stephanie says:

    Hello Kanak! Sunday was wonderful. Glad to hear news from you 😀 Oh wow, your orchid is not only pretty but so long lasting. And its colour is still so bright. What a wonderful orchid! Hope your house renovation will complete soon. Have a great Monday.

  11. Diana says:

    Kanak, such a lovely and tranquil sky. Yes, fall is here also with the rains and cooler evenings as well as the vegetable garden slowing its growth. Beautiful photos as well with the orchid and coconut tree. Kanak, we hope your mother is doing well.

    • kanak7 says:

      Diana…thank you. She is well and I’m glad I managed to spend a short while with her this week. We’re all looking forward to cooler days and the planting. I’ve bought seeds but the sudden showers can still wreak havoc. Waiting for October:)

      Hope your week goes well.

  12. Welcome back — I’m glad to hear from you. Thanks for posting the pictures of the coconut flowers — they are quite interesting!

Leave a Reply

