Landscapes

Before I start to write about anything, I’d like to thank all of you who stopped by and left your precious words. Thank you for being there…your comments mean so much to me.

Today I’d like to share the landscape around the area and along the route that we took for my father’s last ceremony. The land is beautiful. In every season. Every time I take this road, I savour the sights, the sounds, and blogging has made me more observant about the changes no matter how subtle they may be. We’ve done the route in torrents of rain, on sunny days, in thick fog and light mist. And I’ve loved every mood that the jungle has displayed.

A common tree around these parts, the Drumstick tree/Moringa olifera. It’s said to be one of the most useful trees. The leaves, the blooms and the fruit (drumstick), are edible.The land is at its greenest now. But come late November, the green turns a little muted and remains so till the first rains of the year falls with a vengeance usually in March.

Leucas aspera growing wild on the river bank. These plants have medicinal properties and is believed to cure common cold. Bunches of tender leaves are sold in the vegetable markets here.
There were two Common Indian Crow butterflies flitting near these plants but somehow I couldn’t get their picture.

Have you seen a sight like this? There must have been more than fifty nests on this coconut tree. These are the nests of the grain-eating Weaver birds who make these intricately woven nests. The coconut tree was photographed in my cousin’s yard. Her village is not far from the river and that’s where we had lunch after the ceremony was over.

A closer look at the nests.

My nephew looked around for fallen nests and got these empty ones under the coconut tree.


The jungle is beautiful and mysterious. On our return journey, the distant horizon was shrouded in rain-bearing clouds. Having travelled this road so many times I now know that the white and blue Porter’s Weed blooms prolifically throughout the length of summer. That during the rainy season Glory lilies bloom wild. In March the purple Orchid trees are a sight to behold and in April orchids bloom in various hues high up on the trees. And the Ipomoea varieties come in shades of pink, red, white, and blue.

And the wildlife is rich. Jungle fowl is common. So are foxes, many kinds of birds, monkeys, including the Hoolock Gibbon,snakes,and sometimes even deer. I’m only mentioning wildlife as seen fleetingly from a running car.

As we climb uphill, the sight of another meandering river can be seen from the road. This is the longest river in these parts, the Diyung which empties itself into the Kopili.

Closer to my hometown this is a fast-flowing river. A much-loved picnic spot and an association from childhood to all those who have grown up in this area. The fish of this river is considered a delicacy. I hope you liked going these views. The land is at its greenest now.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Landscapes

  1. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak thanks for sharing your beautiful homeland. The jungle is an exciting place with a primitive allure. This reminds me of places in Grenada where I spent many wonderful holidays as a child.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen, primitive allure…that’s the best way to describe it. Places associated with childhood always remain in one’s heart. For me there’s always a sense of homecoming whenever I enter that terrain no matter even if home is still about five hours away:)

  2. Stephanie says:

    Hello Kanak, how are you? Hope your day has been wonderful. The jungle all so green like ours. The weather still warm?

    Oh that coconut tree with so many nests look so extra-ordinary. No, I have seen anything like this before. The nests are beautifully made. They look like pot supports/garden accessories for plants sold at nurseries here.

    Enjoy the beauty of nature! They bring lots of good things to our lives 😀

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph…yes the days are still warm but the nights are becoming more bearable now. So true about nature bringing a lot of good things. About the nests, they are not seen in my area so I was terribly excited to see them too.

      Will see you soon! Have a great evening!

  3. Greetings from Wales, Kanak. Thank you for sharing what will become such special memories with us all. You are much in our thoughts at this time.

  4. Thank you for the lovely tour. In a way, I feel as if I’ve been there now. I wonder why they call that tree Drmustick? I love the tree with the weaver finch nests in it, so many! I saw a documentary on T.V. about the weaver ficnch and how they make the nests, it’s really amazing!

  5. Dear Kanak it was lovely to see another glimpse of this special place you shared with us over the past few days. I think those weaver nests are very interesting in the way that they hang from the tree.

  6. wendy says:

    That coconut tree really looks amazing. I love how intricate bird nests can be. I can imagine how exotic the jungle is. I think I’d be a little afraid at what lurks in the undergrowth, but happy to see it from the safety of a car! Thanks so much for sharing your sacred journey with us. I am always happy to see what your world looks like and grateful for the pictures you show us. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts as you adjust to this new reality.

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy, areas generally not trodden can be a little scary. I’d hate to be bitten by insects or see a snake from close quarters. much as I love being there I tend to be extra careful while treading on the grass. Would love to show more areas from my parts. Comments like yours and from the rest of my blog friends make it all worthwhile.

      Take care!

  7. andrea says:

    That’s a lovely post Kanak, thanks for sharing your world to us. However, yours doesn’t look so different than mine, and like you i always take photos of the scenes around ours, however i just don’t post them here. That jungle actually is not literally forest, but mostly second growths or tall weeds. Ours look like that during rainy months, but barren and dry come dry months. The nests of those birds are very unique for me, we dont have those birds here. They look like Christmas bells on a tree. …You inspire me to also post my vicinity sometime. thanks.

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea, it’ll nice to see photos of your vicinity too. Whatever I’ve photographed are from near the road. It does get dry during the winter months. In some areas we have only bamboo and not much else. Nevertheless, it’s fascinating to see the changes during the seasons.

  8. lotusleaf says:

    Such a beautiful place! It reminds me of the Western Ghats. I’ll definitely visit the North-East some time. Thanks for sharing the beautiful scenes.

  9. birdy says:

    Thanks Kanak for sharing these beautiful shots. The area is very beautiful and is worth to visit. The the coconut tree with nest and the river picture are my favorite.

  10. So beautiful and mysterious. I loved the pictures of the weaver bird nests. What a sight to see!

  11. Mildred says:

    Kanak, I have lost your email address.
    I want to let you know they have found a growth in John’s brain with an MRI. We are going for more tests and will meet with drs. next week. We would greatly appreciate your prayers. Mildred

  12. Titania says:

    Kanak, I love scenery like you show and describe. It is really unique. I can understand that you love this land with all your heart. one can feel it how you describe everything so well, it is like making a journey.The palm with the weavers nests is amazing, well everything is amazing! Hugs Trudi.

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi, thank you so much! I would love to take this route in every season….the sense of belonging is intense whenever I make the journey or when I’m there. Loved reading your words…I’m so glad you liked the sights.

  13. Autumn Belle says:

    Kanak, I hope you are better now. I read your previous post on the last journey and together with this post, they are beautiful and touching. You have said it so well. Looking at the scenes you have posted here, I am once again reminded of the last jouney of my own parents, both to the same place of which the scenery I can relate like yours here. You will feel it again every time you pass by the same path. Your beloved father is watching out for you from above, always taking care of you.

Leave a Reply

