Butterfly Afternoons

I have spent many quiet afternoons at my sister’s place especially after the tragedy. Regular readers of this blog know that my brother-in-law suddenly passed away in July. With my little nephew asleep in the afternoons, the garden was where I spent my time. That’s an area richer than mine when it comes to butterflies and birds. The Ixora blooms attract several types of butterflies and one kind of butterfly that’s seen nearly everyday is this swallowtail, the Common Mormon/Papilio polytes.

But he wasn’t alone. The female butterfly (the one with the red markings) joined him and they fluttered and flitted for what seemed like an eternity.

The mating dance continues around the Ixora bush. And as suddenly as they had descended on it, they fly away to continue the show elsewhere.

In one quiet end of the garden these ringed ones find love. The satyrs, whether the three-ringed or the five-ringed ones, must be the most common butterflies in every garden.

One of the tiny Lycaenid butterflies perched on a leaf.

And in my yard, the Bush-brown rules! Look at this one even condescending to look into the camera as she maintains her balance on a bamboo pole!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Butterflies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Butterfly Afternoons

  1. Kanak you got some great shots there. I’ve just found out that in the warmer parts of the UK swallowtails can be found during the summer months. I’ve just seen them in a butterfly house long before I started up with photography. The markings on the satyrs are very detailed – plenty of eyes there to ward of the predators.

  2. Greenthumb says:

    Dear Kanak, it has been a long time since i visited any blogs. It is always so refreshing to be back to your lovely blog with such beautiful shots of nature.

  3. Joey says:

    Butterflies are the most amazing/beautiful creatures, Kanak. Thank you for sharing this lovely post. Hope all is going well.

  4. I don’t know any of these butterflies, so they are all new to me! I think we don’t have that kind around here. I’m fascinated with those fuzzy deep red stems among the Ixora, are they part of it? The Bush-brown looks like something took a bite out of his wing! But what fascinates me is his eye. I had to click and enlarge, and it’s quite something else! Thesse photos are great!

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, those fuzzy ‘tails’ belong to the chenille plant/Acalypha hispida. It’s also known as the red-hot cat’s tail or foxtail plant. It’s growing next to the Ixora. There are other swallowtail butterflies with more colour patterns on their wings but most difficult to capture. I end up with many blurry images:(

  5. birdy says:

    Why are you capturing butterflies from a long distance? Are you afraid of butterflies? Or you don’t want to disturbed them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Birdy….I didn’t have my 20x zoom with me. And yes, you’re right…I don’t want to disturb them. A slight movement and they don’t come back. Unlike dragonflies who come and rest on the same branch or twig. I’d love to get detailed pictures but that doesn’t happen often.

  6. Aerie-el says:

    Those are great photos of some wonderful creatures in a beautiful setting.
    It looks so peaceful; a good place to connect with the universe.

  7. lotusleaf says:

    Kanak, nice to see butterflies again on your blogposts. Is the Common Mormon same as the Common Crow? I can’t seem to tell them apart.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, they’re not from the same family. The Common Crow belongs to the family Nymphalidae and do not have the ‘tails’. A good site for butterfly ID is http://www.thaibugs.com/ Most of the butterflies that we find in our gardens are documented on that site. One of the best ever!

  8. Katarina says:

    Beautiful shots of lovely butterflies!

  9. bet365 says:

    Good day!This was a really admirable website!
    I come from itlay, I was luck to approach your website in digg
    Also I learn a lot in your Topics really thanks very much i will come daily

  10. Hello Kanak,
    It’s been too long since I’ve visited your lovely part of the world. May I offer my (late) condolences for the loss of your BIL and your father. What a beautiful ceremony on the river for your father’s ashes.

    The butterflies are always such a joy to observe. I am amazed how regional the different varieties are. We have many, many types of swallowtails here but none like your “common mormon”. Very pretty.
    I wish you the best and God’s peace be with you.
    Meems

  11. andrea says:

    Oy Kanak, you should have seen our mating insects also that we linked with each other with Autumn Belle, Me and One. We should have included yours in our linked sites because you have it too. One even invited everybody to the wedding ceremony, haha!

  12. Autumn Belle says:

    Nature is so beautiful in its own ways. I didn’t know that butterflies do it back to back! I’m linking you to my post on mating grasshoppers.

  13. One says:

    Hahaha! Didn’t know you had linking butterflies too. I guess you would know by now that Autumn Belle, Andrea and myself linked our posts on mating insects recently. I didn’t know about yours…

Leave a Reply

