Today’s Flowers

Welcome to Today’s Flowers.The blooms pictured above are those of the Jatropha Integerrima, an evergreen shrub. Also known as the Spicy jatropha, the plant can grow to a small tree. Mine is in a container so I need to keep its height in check. It likes full sun and of course, a well-drained soil. I bought the plant when I saw the pretty blooms not realizing then that it could grow to a height of about 15 ft! But it has been attracting the pollinators so I now realize that I should trim and ne’er complain!!

To see the most stunning blooms across the world, please head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/

My thanks to the TF team —Santilli, Denise, Pupo, and Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Today’s Flowers

  1. I don’t think I have ever heard of this shrub, or seen it before. But I love the color! I find red flowers one of the hardest things to photograph, it is hard to show off well.

  2. Diana says:

    Hello Kanak, lovely blossoms and many still linger in our garden as fall has arrived. We hope all is well with you and your family.

  3. Arija says:

    Hallo Kanak my friend,

    what a long time it has been from those tentative steps I took when I first discovered your blog.
    I was so sorry to read you had lost your father but loved the final farewell ceremony and what a wonderful sign from him to let you know he was still around.

    Your tropical flowers are beautiful and look in structure to be related to Frangipani which also grows to the same height.

    Thanks for your visit and do keep in touch.

  4. Larry says:

    Such an interesting plant with lovely color… L

  5. lotusleaf says:

    Pretty flower. One of my neighbouring gardens has a pink flowering jatropha, which is also very pretty. There is an organic garden here which runs its flour mill using Jatropha deisel.

  6. Stephanie says:

    Hi Kanak! I love the first picture… beautiful shot. The flower is indeed pretty. Love their blooms a lot. They can be noticed from afar and always on the top.
    The flowers are just wonderful. Oh yes, those pink ones are pretty as well šŸ˜‰

  7. Denise says:

    Gorgeous, and your photos are outstanding. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Carletta says:

    Pretty in pink!
    Lovely macro!

  9. leavesnbloom says:

    Kanak I’ve seen one like this as a houseplant and I couldn’t get over the size of it – even when quite young it still have quite thick stems. The one I saw was an orangey colour. It must be some show of colour in the garden for you just now.

  10. Autumn Belle says:

    I have seen many such plants here. We also call it the Spicy Jatropha. Many people plant it in frontof the homes. I think the bright red colour of the flower is very auspicious. I heard that in some countries it is grown for jatropha oil and the biomass industry.

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, I’m glad to learn this. Maybe I’ll place the pot near my front door. Lotusleaf had also mentioned Jatropha oil. That’s new to me. I’ll surely check online about the same. Would love to know the details.

Leave a Reply

