Today’s Flowers

Welcome to Today’s Flowers.
I’m no culture vulture but I often like to check out the gardens of the local Art and culture centre, the Sankardev Kalakshetra. I was there some days ago and got these images. You can see the last of the Crepe Myrtle in the foreground.

A hibiscus in a delicate shade of pink.

The Pride of Barbados. Just love the shade and the showiness:)

Yellow cosmos. Reminded me that I haven’t grown this colour in three years.

Two-toned Powder Puff next to the water body where many dragonflies were hovering about. To see more beautiful blooms, please head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/

My thanks to the TF team—Santilli, Denise, Pupo, and Sandy Carlson.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Today’s Flowers

  1. Lui says:

    The pink hibiscus is rare! I love the powder-puff and I finally know that the flowers I see around are called Pride of Barbados! Thanks for the info!

  2. Denise says:

    I am very happy that you shared your trip to the art and culture center. You’ve given us these fabulous flowers, and I thank you so much.

  3. Beautiful, beautiful collection of flowers! Especially fascinating is the two-toned powder puff!

  4. I love hibiscus, and crepe myrtle, I did posts on both of them! We have had cosmos before, but not this pretty yellow!! The powder puff looks just like our mimosa trees, I did a post on them. You can see the pictures and compare here: http://ginny-letyourlightshine.blogspot.com/2010/06/tree-of-happiness.html I called it The Tree Of Happiness. I wonder if these are the same plant, the leaves in the background even look the same!

  5. Hibiscus is a personal fave… Looks like we share many of the same species…

  6. Larry says:

    these blooms are most interesting! L

  7. john says:

    Love that power puff!

  8. SandyCarlson says:

    Very, very beautiful.

  9. Stephanie says:

    I love those two flowers in pink – hibiscus and powder puff! They really look delicate especially the pink hibiscus.

    Pride of Barbados is outstanding! The colours red and orange warms the heart.

    Cosmos, I was surprised to see them in a park here as they have all grown into a three feet shrub! And they actually flower once in a while.

  10. mia says:

    Lovely flowers, that orange colour is really something and powder puff, makes me happy, wish I could grow it in a pot, if only I had a green house..

  11. Meems says:

    Kanak,
    Beautiful colors and flowers. That dwarf poinciana is a real treat in full bloom. Funny how those plants are familiar to our area as well. I’m always amazed at that. But then again many of our non-native plants came from your part of the world. πŸ™‚
    Have a happy day,
    Meems

  12. Susie says:

    It’s interesting to see your Pride of Barbados. We actually have those for sell at the nursery this year. They really are pretty!

  13. easygardener says:

    The Powder Puff is an odd one – looks like it should be adorning the head of some exotic bird πŸ™‚

  14. Elu says:

    It’s been a year of discovery of colours of the Crepe Myrtle this year(I’m dumb,in matters concerning plants,but colours fascinate me).The colour is pale purple(in your post),somewhat like the Jacaranda colour of Haflong,isn’t it?.Noticed white,red & pinks Crepe Myrtles in the blogspot Charleston Daily Photo on the posts dated July 26 2010 & August 18 2010 & was fascinated by the unusual red shade.

  15. Dear Kanak

    It seems like ages since I was last commenting here. I took a little break from blogosphere to make sure that my son got all my attention with his recovery. Hopefully I’ll have a new post up in the next day or so.

    I think the most stunning flower in your post today is that barbados flower – the colours are so vibrant aswell. Its as if the bush is on fire.

    I hope you and the family are well.

    Everything looks so green with you Kanak – does your part of India ever have “autumnal colour changes” to the leaves on the trees?

  16. Floridagirl says:

    Hi, Kanak! I just happened upon your blog today, and I surely must add it to my blogroll. Love those pinks you have displayed today! The hibiscus is beautiful, and I’ve never seen such a pretty powderpuff.

Leave a Reply

