Blooming Friday/Wild And Beautiful

This variety of Canna/Canna indica was growing wild in my hometown. I brought it with me on one of my many trips last year and it’s rewarding me with these pretty red blooms.

The blooms of the Holy Basil/Ocimum sanctum. Once you plant basil in the garden, they spring up in likely/unlikely spots. In this case a croton pot has been taken over by the basil. I did plant the first basil but now they grow wild.

Growing in one of my pots that I had readied for my winter planting is this tiny bloom. It’s the Fringed Spider Flower/Cleome rutidosperma that grows wild everywhere, I had always pulled out this weed but the other day I noticed that the tiny blooms are beautiful. It’s still there in the pot but checking out the world wide web, I found out that this plant is a major threat to tropical annual crops. A native of tropical Africa, it has spread to other areas of the world where the climatic conditions are similar.

The theme for this week’s Blooming Friday post is “Wild And Beautiful”. And as garden bloggers we see beauty in everything that’s around us. Didn’t a weed stop being just that a long time ago? What I would have gladly and unceremoniously pulled out years ago, especially during my pre-blogging days, makes me stop and appreciate its worth and its beauty.

To see other Blooming Friday posts from across the planet, please visit our gracious host, Katarina @ http://rosorochris.blogspot.com/

Wish you all a wonderful weekend!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Blooming Friday/Wild And Beautiful

  1. Canna/Canna indica is a really beautiful flower

  2. Susie says:

    Never seen that particular variety of cleome before Kanak. I like the color.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. Hey, I’ve missed you in the last few days, where have you been? Glad to see you are O.K. and doing a new post today. I love these tiny little beauties. Is Holy Basil regular basil, or some special kind? The flowers we call weeds, if they were hard to find, everyone would want them. I like to think of them all as wildflowers, not weeds.

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, this basil is used in all religious Hindu ceremonies. But the plant also has medicinal properties. Basil tea or Tulsi tea as we say in India is refreshing. A remedy for common cold is the juice of the leaves with honey, usually one of the first “medicine” given to babies.

  4. Floridagirl says:

    I too have been appreciating the blooming weeds in my neck of the woods more and more as time goes by. That red canna growing in your town is an especially stunning weed that people across the world pay good money for!

    • kanak7 says:

      Floridagirl, canna lilies are so lovely but here they tend to be invasive. Low-lying areas all across our city have canna lilies in various shades. Canna lovers will surely be aghast at the surroundings in which they flourish here.

  5. One says:

    You are right. The Spider Flower is beautiful. I have quite a few shots of it. Almost posted it together with the rest of the blooms today. You are also right about a weed stop being a weed. As we observe nature, we change. 🙂

  6. Stephanie says:

    That cleome flower is new to me. The flower looks shy he he… I love that red canna indica. So red… must be really striking in real. I wish your weekend to be a wonderful one like your blooms here 😀

  7. Beautiful pictures from your part of the world!

    In Sweden we have a type of Canna too but it get rather small there mostly like a homeplant. Here in Spain they are planted as big bushes.

  8. Rosie says:

    I’ve got some nice looking weeds in my garden – really nice ones that I have not blogged about yet – years ago I too would have pulled them out but I think I garden more with nature in mind these days and some of the wildflowers are really quite sweet little things and our wildlife really do prefer them. Great photos Kanak.

    Like your new theme 🙂 I was making another theme of my own last week

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie…I agree with you about gardening with nature in mind. Maybe you’d like to post those pictures later. Always nice to see what grows in your part of the world.

      Glad you mentioned the theme. I think I’ll stick to it now. I can’t make my own…that’s too hi-tech for me:) I’m sure yours will be very pretty!!

  9. birdy says:

    Nice and informative post as always. Fringed spider flower is my favorite, in spite of the fact that it’s a weed and can harm crops.

  10. Ingmarie We says:

    Very lovely photos. Your fauna and flora are so different from ours. Very interesting.

  11. mia says:

    Your Canna has a lovely colour. Bringing back plants from home makes them extra special, don’t you find? Weed, they can be beautiful as your little blue charm 🙂

    • kanak7 says:

      Mia, they really do! I tend to have a soft spot for them…it’s about so many things….family, childhood, laughter, love. Extra special indeed!

  12. joey says:

    Wild, beautiful and wonderful, Kanak! Garden ((hugs)).

  13. Katarina says:

    The Fringled Spider Flower is pretty indeed – as are quite a few of our weeds too when you take a closer look.

  14. I just love to come and visit your garden, wild and beautiful indeed and so very beautiful and exotic/ xoxo Tyra

  15. Elu says:

    Your words “didn’t a weed stop being just that……..” made me recall some famous quotes like “A weed is no more than a flower in disguise,……..” and “Once in a golden hour / I cast to earth a seed / Up there came a flower / The People said, a weed”.The first quote is attributed to James Russell
    Lowell(1819-1891) & the other to Lord Alfred Tennyson (1809-1892). Oct’ 21st 2010.

Leave a Reply

