Foliage Follow-up

Foliage Follow-Up comes right after Bloom Day. Started by Pam at Digging it’s a wonderful idea to show foliage, bark, and seedheads. Head over to Pam’s to see some of Mother Nature’s most beautiful creations. And here are some of the foliage/seedheads that I have in my garden.

The leaves of the Yellow-Vein Eranthemum/Pseuderanthemum reticulatum growing near my front door. It’s an evergreen shrub with green and creamy yellow leaves. The blooms are tiny. They’re white and speckled with a bit of pink.

An arrangement of common foliage plants with ornamental grass and aquatic plants.

A plant whose name I do not know. The flowers are tiny and almost unnoticeable but the leaves are a rich burgundy. It’s a shrub that grows in a large pot.

Drenched with rain is this passion fruit vine in my backyard.

From the vegetable market comes this edible fern/diplazium esculentum. This fern is very popular in our region.

I got some seeds of the Datura/Thorn Apple from the wild at the beginning of this year. Now the seedheads are forming.

Is that a pupa? That’s what my son asked me when I showed him this picture. It’s interesting to see the seedheads forming on the Malabar spinach/Basella alba. This variety has smaller leaves and they sprout everywhere. But once the seeds ripen, the birds love to feed on them.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Foliage plants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Foliage Follow-up

  1. What a great variety, all so very different! My favorites are the two first ones. I love the yellow on the leaves and the way the sun is shining on them. and the aquatic ones. the ones in the pot almost look like lentils.

  2. Madame C says:

    What a lovely post! Thank you for these fantastic pictures:)
    Charlotta

  3. Debbie says:

    Kanak, I enjoyed all the photos, especially seeing so many plants that I’ve never seen before. I’ll be back to visit again soon…

  4. joey says:

    As beautifully shown, Kanak, foliage sustains us as much as flowers. Happy days 🙂

  5. lotusleaf says:

    That edible fern is very interesting. We don’t get it here.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma, I thought that this fern was only available in the north east but checking out Wiki, I found out that it’s popular throughout south east Asia and Oceania. It’s also grown as a houseplant.

  6. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak that burgundy plant is called Leea coccinea aka leea.It is used extensively here in landscapes.

  7. Rosie says:

    Kanak I adore foliage and yours is just so different compared to what I’m used to. That seed head looks so unusual.

Leave a Reply

