More Clerodendrum Photos

I had posted three pictures of the East Indian Glory Bower on my Blooming Friday post last week. I’d like to include two more pictures of the same. After the berries fall off this is how the plant looks like. Some of the black fruit can be seen in the photo. That dark shade of pink looks striking, don’t you think?

What kind of caterpillars are you likely to find feeding on the dark green leaves of the Clerodendrum colebrookianum? Here’s a young ‘un relishing its meal. The adult caterpillar is a scary-looking specimen and I got the shivers photographing one last year. This one is nowhere near as intimidating as the adult one.

And talking about caterpillars, I come across some unusual ones. A few months ago I was busy removing twigs and weeds from a flower bed and at the end of the twig was this one! Wasn’t I glad that I didn’t end up holding that end of the twig?!! As scared as I am of caterpillars, I have to admit that the pattern on its back is unique.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Insects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to More Clerodendrum Photos

  1. islandgal246 says:

    Your blog looks fabulous Kanak! It is beautiful! That clerodendron looks like the one I had found growing wild on my countryside jaunt a few weeks ago.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    The catterpillars are scary. I saw a black hairy catterpillar today, but I gave it a wide berth.

  3. Rosie says:

    Thats really interesting Kanak – I have never seen the fruits of a Clerodendrum before. I managed to get a good photo of what we call a vapourer a few months ago and it has the same type of bottlebrushes that your caterpillar has though I am sure they are not the same type of caterpillar. To tell you the truth I got shivers down my back when I saw that grey one – its not that pretty !

    • kanak7 says:

      Rosie, I wanted to share those photos. There are several kinds of clerodendrum but this is the only edible one I know. As for the caterpillars, I think I ought to document them too:)

  4. Yes, i see the one black berry left on that plant! But your caterpillar photos are amazing! I don’t know how you managed it, being scared of them. But it was so much worth it! I just had to enlarge the first one, everyone should. To see the detail up close is beautiful and frightening both at once. I have taken many bee and wasp pictures, though I’m scared to death of them!! The things we will do for blog pictures!! Perhaps our blogs and cameras help us deal with our fears?

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, that’s exactly what I feel. To a great extent I have overcome my fears of creepy-crawlies. Till my thirties I would scream at a sight of a caterpillar. Gardening , blogging, and our cameras of course, make us see things around us in a better, kinder way. And thank God for that!

  5. andrea says:

    Hi Kanak these caterpillars look more tamed when in photos, like you we in the family are all afraid of them esp my mother who rans when she almost touch one. Maybe these hirsute ones become moths. I cant touch even the unhairy ones, they feel like they would burst! hehe

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea, about touching them…eeek, that sends shudders up my spine!! I’m surprised and glad that I can photograph them. But I still get that feeling as if I might have a rash of the most horrific kind!!!!!

  6. kim says:

    Thanks kanak7.. i was lookin for the name of Clerodendrum colebrookianum.Finally from yr photos i gt the name.
    .we take the leaves as a vegetable in our place, Keithelmanbi, Manipur and also as a medicinal plant.

    Nice photography.. tnx alot once again..

  7. Abhi says:

    Dear Kanak,
    Nefafu is really a pride from NE India, both for ornamental and medicinal values.
    Although always had a doubt on whether “Clerodendrum” and “Clerodendron” are the same?
    If so then why are they spelled differently in texts???

Leave a Reply

