A Damselfly and an Update


Yesterday while working on my potted plants I came across this beautiful damselfly. It’s the Orange-tailed Marsh Dart. The combination of these colours make it look most striking. Several damselflies are seen right after the rains but since I’ve photographed them all, at least the ones who frequently stop by my yard, I had to resist the urge to take out the camera from my apron pocket and get on with the weeding and the re-arranging instead.

And now on to the plant I had posted on Saturday. Although I’ve had it for so many years, I didn’t know its name. My good friend Helen of My Rustic Bajan Garden identified it for me. It’s Leea coccinea aka West Indian Holly/Red Leea, and Hawaiin Holly.
Helen is a water garden consultant and has one of the most beautiful gardens in the north of Barbados. It’s a pleasure to see so many exotic plants in such a beautiful setting. Thank you, Helen!

Leea coccinea is a fast growing shrub and mine practically thrived on neglect. The watering and the occasional manure was what it ever asked of me:) It’s a sun-loving plant and the stems and leaves are a rich burgundy. The fruit appear in late summer followed by tiny flowers. From the pictures I checked, the cultivar I have is Leea coccinea rubra. This shrub is of Burmese (some sites say Cambodian) origin and is named after the Scottish gardener James Lee.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Foliage plants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Damselfly and an Update

  1. Randy says:

    Kanak,
    That is one of the coolest damselflies I have ever seen! Really good job on the photo too! Out in the western US I found a Rainbow Bluet that closely resembles this one.

  2. Susie says:

    What a beautiful insect Kanak! They are so delicate looking. Glad you found out the name of your plant.

  3. islandgal246 says:

    Thank you Kanak and there is also a green Leea as well. That damsel fly is beautiful. I have never seen such gorgeous colours.

  4. Floridagirl says:

    What a beautiful damselfly! And a great photo as well! I have a very hard time focusing on those creatures.

  5. The damselfly, it’s taking my breath away!!! I have heard of them, but I’ve never seen any! There are different kinds? Oh, I would have loved to see more shots, and come back to the pretty flowers later! I don’t know how you ever got it to sit still and pose! I cannot snap a dragonfly!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Those red berries of the West Indian holly is delightful! Now I recall one of those plants I saw at a home centre long time ago that has red berries like this… oh I should have brought it home!… Love plants which bear red fruits/berries like this one 😀 That dragonfly’s tail look so delicate btw.

    Have a great day Kanak!

  7. lotusleaf says:

    The damselfly can easily be called Peacock fly! It has such lovely colours. Your photo is superb.

  8. Grace Olsson says:

    Forgive me…I couldnt come here before..

    THANKS FOR YOUR COMMENT

    I WAS IN AFRICA FOR MANY WEEKS AND ONLY NOW I ARRIVED IN SWEDEN
    http://graceolsson.com/blog/2010/10/the-africa-of-my-dreams-lets-go-kenya/

  9. wow Kanak that is some little damselfly with its beautiful colours. I would be totaly distracted if I had those flying about in my garden.

    Thanks for visiting my new blog – its busy over there so its keeping me well occupied now that the gardening season is ebbing away.

  10. Titania says:

    Hi Kanak, a very elegant visitor in your garden, the damsel. The burgundy Leea is very beautiful, I like its tiny porcelain flowers. It is always a pleasure to see something new which I have never seen or is not resident in my garden.
    Have a nice weekend. T.

Leave a Reply

