All In A Day’s Work


Yesterday I had posted a picture of the gourd flower and this morning this was the sight as I stepped out of the door to my backyard. A pretty blue lifeless dragonfly entangled on a tendril and swaying in a slight breeze.

Every once in a while I come across still-life in the garden; a butterfly or—-

a bee.

That a dragonfly can meet its end this way was something I had never imagined! But when I went to check, it was gone. Devoured perhaps by one of the many birds who visit regularly!

Ginny had asked about the gourd bloom. Not all gourd flowers are yellow. The Bitter gourd has tiny yellow blooms and the Bottle gourd has white blooms. This is a picture of the Snake gourd taken last month in my cousin’s garden.

Many of you had commented on my terrace garden. Thank you so much! It’s hard work and does take up a lot of my time. Which is why I’m usually up by 5.30 to water all the plants, do a bit of weeding, and pick up the leaves from the few trees that I have. One needs Courage to brave the heat during the day. I’d rather stay indoors!! Plants here look their best during the rainy season.The photo above was taken during the monsoon last year. All of them are in containers. And I had many pollinators who kept me on my toes as I crouched and sat on my haunches hoping for some good shots!:)

Sometimes I happen to see several winged creatures during the course of the day. And Rosie, you’re right about the distraction. Whatever I do, I need to stop and take a a shot, or several shots. As I opened the front door this morning, something fluttered away.That something was the Peacock Pansy butterfly. Although the Pansy butterflies are commonly seen in gardens and open fields here, I haven’t seen them on my plants for months. But getting a shot of the wings closed like this wasn’t good enough. So I tiptoed nearer and waited!

It was worth the wait! You can read my earlier post on the Pansy butterflies here.

Later in the day, a Striped Albatross butterfly stopped by. The seedheads belong to the Malabar Spinach.

A Kingfisher high up on a wire. How I wish they’d come closer. My camera can only manage this much! The sky as you can see from this picture was an intense shade of blue today.

And in the marshy area next to our house, the water is drying up. I hope to see a few aquatic birds foraging here. I’m most interested in the white-breasted water hen. But for now the Pansy butterflies rule the roost. Or should I say, the grass?!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All In A Day’s Work

  1. Susie says:

    I enjoyed your winged insects this a.m. Kanak. I never saw too many butterflies this year in my garden. Of course, that’s probably because due to the drought, I didn’t have too many blooms.

  2. My jaw is dropping at these georgous pictures!! Something to get my day started and hoping I can get shots as good as these! You are an inspiration. Are the insects in the first three pictures all dead? Gosh, that blossom tendril entangled the dragonfly like a sprder web! Your potted plants are so beautiful and exotic looking, thanks for talking about them for a bit. It WAS worth the wait for the open wings of the Peacock butterfly, breathatking! And I love the albatross, especially the way you captured the fuzz on his head! I need to go out scouting for some more, but cold weather is coming fast!!

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, thank you so much! Yes, the first three insects are all dead. The albatross likes to feed on the basil and the Malabar Spinach.. My Mexican Heather has started to bloom and that’s where most butterflies will be headed. Hoping to get several butterfly shots soon:)) Good luck with the scouting!

  3. Kanak you really do have many wonderful looking visitors to the garden especially that Pansy Butterfly with its beautiful eye markings on its wings. I can’t believe that you get kingfishers even within zoom distance. If I go down to our river I am lucky if I even see a glimpse of one darting from the water never mind trying to capture it on the camera. So interesting to read alittle more about your terrace garden – I’m still sound asleep at 5.30am and it’s pitch black at that time with us.

  4. Diana says:

    Hello Kanak,

    You always have the most remarkably different butterflies than we do here in the Pacific northwest. Ours are since gone so I will enjoy yours. 🙂

    I hope all is well with you and your family.

  5. One says:

    Absolutely gorgeous photos. I must come by more often. I’ve just put up your link on my blog so that I do not miss your new posts.

  6. Arija says:

    Kanak, thank you for stopping by.

    Your oxalis is such a pretty pink, our gazetted weed is a bright yellow.
    Love the water droplet and butterfly on your solanum.

  7. The blogworld is truly fantastic! Here I find you thanks to Katarinas Blooming Friday and I like what I see! I would love to get a blogfriend in India, take at look at my blog and decide if you want to join the party!
    Laila

Leave a Reply

