Blooming Friday: Tiny


Welcome to Blooming Friday. Katarina, our host, has chosen Tiny as the theme for this week. I hope you enjoy going through these images.

Most tiny blooms go unnoticed unless they grow in clusters or in huge masses. But if you look closely and take in the details, or photograph them, you learn to appreciate their beauty. Think about the Bougainvillea (above). It’s the colourful bracts that come to mind when you think about it. Certainly not the white tiny flower! Or the Spider Plant whose drooping foliage is what first comes to mind. But its tiny white blooms aren’t just palin white at all. Don’t you love those little touches of yellow?

I found these these wild booms growing on the wayside yesterday. The Common Mormon butterflies took turns in feeding from the many clusters of small flowers.

One of the many flies who faithfully stop by my plants ever so often.

A hoverfly. I’ll see more of them in the coming months.

A plant which loves the sun and is often used for hedges. This was taken in a garden in Delhi in the month of August. The flowers (below) are tiny but those long stamens give them a spidery look.


And I have always admired the tenacity of these tiny maidenhair ferns to thrive on a concrete wall. And to come back year after year as if that spot held water and food! The ones that I’ve bought from the nursery can’t seem to forgive me for looking after them;)

To see more Blooming Friday:Tiny posts, please visit Katarina at Roses and Stuff.

Thank you for stopping by. Have a great Friday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blooming Friday: Tiny

  1. Lovely post Kanak. just love your Maiden hair, I whould love to have that plant in my greenhouse. Elegant fly too.

    I wish you a lovely weekend

    Tyra in the Kitchen Garden KÖKSTRÄDGÅRDEN

  2. lotusleaf says:

    That wild flower is certainly a beauty.

  3. easygardener says:

    It is worth looking more closely at some plants. We do miss a lot by consentrating on more showy flowers (beautiful though they are!).
    Have a good weekend.

  4. One says:

    You are absolutely right about the bougainvillea. I keep forgetting.

  5. jo©o says:

    Hiya Kanak,

    What a cheerful and colourful collection of healthy plants. I enjoyed seeing them.

  6. Eva Linnea says:

    I really love the first picture. Wonderful colours. I wish you a nice weekend. /Eva Linnea

  7. Birgitta says:

    Love the Bougainvillea. Here I got two on our windowsill that I bought when we were in the Northern Malaysia and I love them.
    Birgitta

  8. Titania says:

    Hi Kanak, your “tinies” are very pretty. I am fascinated by tiny blooms etc. I am admiring the soft maidenhair clinging on to the most unusual places. It looks as fine as babies breath but is as tough as old boots! Mine grows in an area where it is generally tough to grow for anything but the maidenhair thrives.

  9. Fabulous insect pictures, if rather creepy. But I think my favorite has to be that georgous first one!! Thanks for showing us the small world that most of us miss!

  10. AnnCharlotte says:

    I love the Bougainvillea. That flower we grow inside our houses in Sweden;)

  11. Lovely post and beautiful and colourful flowers.
    I wish you a great weekend!

  12. Stephanie says:

    When I brought home a new bougainvillea last month, I was so looking forward to see the tiny flowers open. Yes I agree, the bracts are showy but the tiny flower is another thing to watch… mine open so sllllloooowllly! ha ha… it’s fun to watch how each plant grows and how their flower blossoms differently. Plumbago is my favourite as well. The flowers all open up to form a lovely cluster 😀 Enjoy tiny blooms… yes!

  13. Autumn Belle says:

    You have cleverly highlighted the lovely tiny beauties. They are indeed in a world of their own, aren’t they. Little flowers also little bugs and tiny butterflies.

  14. Ruby says:

    Hey Kanak,
    How have you been?Am really excited. We will be home in Dec and time to catch up. Will you be in Guwahati?Have been missing for long…hope to be back soon. Hiya is a 8 month brat now:)
    Loved your post on butterflies.
    So long …

    Ruby.

  15. Elu says:

    Didn’t know that flies could be of any colour other than black too.The sight was so appealing,I thought I looked at a beetle.

  16. Katarina says:

    Great post – the actual flowers of the Bougainvillia certainly tend to be unnoticed. But they’re lovely when you take a closer look!
    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  17. Diana says:

    You made me smile as soon as I saw the first photo, the blossoms… We still have some flowers in bloom, a few roses, but with the colder night temperatures the majority have faded. Fall is definitely here in our neck of the woods.. so refreshing to be able to visit you. 😉

  18. mia says:

    A pretty flower, your Spider plant. Nice photoes all of them. No, I never thought of that litte white flower. It’s allways those bid pink leaves that catches my eyes.
    Have a nice Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

