Today’s Flowers#119


Datura from the wild now blooming in my front yard. On a visit to a wildlife sanctuary famed for its rhinos, the guards had given me a seedpod of this plant. There were several plants growing wild but the one behind their living quarters had white blooms with a tinge of purple. That was in February. Now the seeds are rewarding me with these blooms.

There are so many synonyms for this plant. The most common are–the Thorn Apple, Stinkweed, Jimson’s weed and Devil’s Trumpet. Although the plant is poisonous it has many medicinal properties. In the evenings there’s a subtle fragrance from the blooms.

On the ground and in the wild, the plant can easily grow to a height of six feet. But mine are in containers and they are only about two feet tall.

To see more flowers from across the planet, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli, Denise, Pupo, Sandy Carlson

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great Sunday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Today’s Flowers#119

  1. Wilma Lingle says:

    That is a handsome, though poisonous, plant, Kanak. The purple tinge is really soemthing. Good eyes to spot that behind the living quarters and how nice of the guards to give you some seedpods.

    cheers,
    Wilma

  2. Luna Miranda says:

    i have seen this plant around here and i didn’t know it’s poisonous. beautiful purple tint.

  3. I have heard of all these other names but didn’t know it’s real name, And I don’t know if I’ve ever seen one. How beautiful! So does it stink? And does it have thorns? Doesn’t look like it. I wish I could smell it. Your photos are stunning as usual, like a wonderful painting, And the second picture does look like the flower is painted!

  4. Beautiful but dangerous flower 🙂

  5. Lui says:

    Yes it looks like a painting! But if it is poisonous I hope it will not harm anyone. 😦

  6. I’ve never seen one of these with blooms this colour before – it’s really beautiful – we have to keep them in containers here so that they can be kept frost free in the winter time. I sometimes have to work with these plants at work and I have to wash my hands if I even touch one of their leaves or dead head the flowers as they are so toxic.

  7. Estas flores são lindas!!!!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Good job Kanak! This flower is a beauty. The colour of your is really marvellous. White infront and purple edge and back – a unique colouration… I love it!!

  9. Susie says:

    I use to have that same plant. I always thought those prickly seed pods looked like little porcupine balls.

  10. Autumn Belle says:

    Although they are poisonous, datura flowers are very lovely. Nice to see them here.

  11. Andrea says:

    kanak, i haven’t seen this color before, very lovely. Your name for it is Devil’s trumper, while ours is Angels’ Trumpet. I think i like our name more than the others, hehe!

  12. SandyCarlson says:

    Really amazing. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

