Leafing Through The Foliage

Remember this plant I had posted recently? It’s called the Golden Vein Eranthemum/Pseuderanthemum reticulatum. The foliage is striking and looks its best around this time of the year.

Early this month I noticed these tiny buds on the small shrub. They soon bloomed. The flowers are tiny and white with purplish speckles.


A variety of Acalypha from my sister’s garden. I have two varieties but both aren’t looking their best now.

Cordyline. A break from the mostly-green look. It’s most welcome.
Ornamental pineapple. It hasn’t flowered in the past two years but the foliage always looks good!

The stiff leaves of the Cardboard Palm/Zamia furfuracea. Wiki has all the details here.

A variety of Polyscias which is a constant in my garden. The leaves are variegated and has a pretty good vase-life.

Alocasia sanderiana or the Kris plant. Said to be a native of the Philippines, this is widely grown for its attractive foliage.

And the Leea Coccinea is a favourite of mine. The rich burgundy leaves look great and the shrub is easy to maintain. And the added bonus is that lizards love it!

Thank you for taking the time to go through the images. Have a pleasant day/evening!:)

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Foliage plants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leafing Through The Foliage

  1. One says:

    Hi! I used to have the Polyscias but no longer. I must have over-watered it.

  2. Andrea says:

    We have all your plants in our property in the province. That first one i dont like but butterflies love them. Imagine, that Alocasia sanderiana which you said came from the Philippines is the one i dont have! But my cousin has lots of it, maybe the reason i dont plant them anymore.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Leea Coccinea is so gorgeous! Love its burgundy foliage. I think your sister has the most beautiful Acalypha. Love it very much 😀 And you have really got me interested in Golden Vein Eranthemum this time. Does this shrub grow big and require lots of space?

    The lizard… I’ll be really frightened by it… you are so brave!

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Steph! The shrub doesn’t require much space and it can always be pruned. About the lizard(s)…I love them!! I photograph them so often because there are so many of them amidst my plants. I don’t touch them but I’m glad they’re there!

  4. Titania says:

    Hi Kanak, foliage, in different colours and patterns add a lot of interest to the garden. I like cordylines, which are in more colours and patterns available now then they used to be. Locusts are very fond of them in my garden. They look a bit abused at the moment, the cordylines not the locusts, they never do! You have some very interesting foliage plants. Some are familiar in my Garden, like the cardboard palm which I find interesting to grow. I also like the colour purple which stands out. Leea cocinea is so shiny and a beautiful burgundy.The illuminated leaf with the shadow of the flower is a lovely arty touch! T.

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi, thanks! That’s a new thing to me…about the locusts, I mean. I have a few varieties of cordylines, about four, but I haven’t had pests on them. It’s the mussaenda and the Spicy jatropha that have been infested. Recently I have started using the water from soaked tobacco leaves. Seems to be working. About the arty touch…I wanted a shot of the tender leaves but the slight breeze created this effect…I think!:) Thanks for mentioning it.

  5. All such beautiful foliage! But my favorite is the second picture because of the wonderful shadow of the buds you captured on the leaf!

  6. lotusleaf says:

    I like the Leea coccinea with its burgundy leaves. Sorry for being late.

  7. What a wonderful lizard on the Leea Coccinea, Kanak. I believe we only have two lizard species here in the UK.

    You can see a couple of my lizard photos here:

    http://carolinegillwildlife.blogspot.com/2010/08/herpetofauna-2-frog-and-lizards.html

Leave a Reply

