Pine Resin And A New Blog


Quite a common garden feature is this variety of pine, the Norfolk Island Pine. It’s evergreen and beautiful. I won’t be going into the details but I noticed the sap on the bark of this tree and the shapes are interesting.

Love that peachy colour and the shape that reminds you of candle wax.

With all the pictures that I take of wildlife around me, I actually need another page to share them. My new blog is called Nature Rambles. I’ve started my post with the the Common Crow butterfly drying its wings before its first flight. I hope you’ll check out my new blog @ http://goodmotherearth.blogspot.com/

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pine Resin And A New Blog

  1. Autumn Belle says:

    I like evergreen trees for their everlasting reminder. The sap really looks like crystal wax. You do have a lot of beautiful wildlife photos, so Congratulations on your new blog!

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Interesting photos.

  3. mia says:

    Yes, you’re right, like candle vax it looks. But it also make me think of something sweet, like homemade fudge or something, yummie..A new blog, I will go for a visit ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The sap looks like glue! And I wonder what is making it come out, maybe an injury to the tree? You have very sharp eyes to have caught this! I’m going over to check out your new blog. So this blog will be for flowers and the other one for wildlife?

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, thanks! As far as I know this tree was not damaged in any way. I’ve been reading up on resin and also found out that resins actually protect the plants from being infested by insects. About your question, yes, I think I’ll concentrate on wildlife there.

  5. Great new blog! And I love your Norfolk Island Pine. Mine died in an unusually cold winter last year and I’m still missing it. Can’t wait to see more nature posts!

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Elizabeth! Thank you so much! The first photo was taken in a nursery and the sap-producing one is from my sister’s garden. I also have one which is about 8′ in height. I did see some resin there but the quantity eas not blog-worthy:)

  6. Andrea says:

    I envy you for still having the time for a new blog, when i am not able to cope with just even one! But congratulations, i will also go there once in a while. If i am not mistaken, there is a pine oil, that resin is the source of that. We have an endemic tree here which is a source of the Manila Elemi resin used for oil too. By the way, those resin during the old ages became the much sought-after jewelry which sometimes still contain some insects. I forgot the term but the high temperatures and pressures maybe during the age of dinosaurs made them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea…yes I know what you mean. Petrified resin which is amber. Very beautiful. Of late I haven’t been answering all the comments here since that takes up some time. But I felt my garden wildlife deserved a place of their own. I’ve been reading a whole lot of nature blogs…earlier it was only gardening blogs…and my interest is gradually veering towards nature posts and photo blogs. Thanks for mentioning the endemic tree of your country. My posts won’t be daily but I’ll try to post twice or thrice a week.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Beautiful tree. I love to watch this pine. Its form is really interesting. Yes the sap really looks like candle wax ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Titania says:

    The Norfolk Island palm looks very majestic. I did not know that they exude so much sap, perhaps in time it will become amber.
    I will check out your new blog and put it on my bloglist.
    Kanak have a nice weekend. T.

  9. Gela says:

    Amazing photos. Have a nice weekend/Gela

Leave a Reply

