Blooming Friday:On The Windowsill

Although this week’s Blooming Friday theme is about plants on the windowsill, I have no photos, plants rather, on the windowsill. Rare around these parts to even have a windowsill. So I’m posting pictures of dry decorations across the wall and above the window from my friend Smita’s beautifully kept home. Her garden shots are coming later, and that’s a promise!

Smita used fresh flowers to decorate the entire length of her sitting room area for her daughter’s wedding in May. As the flowers started to dry up they still looked good so they weren’t taken off the wall. Looks like they’ll be there for a while. I love the look! What do you think?


These windows (on the second picture) look out to the porch and a garden with several flowering trees, fruit trees, and flowering plants of the season. Her marigolds and salvias have started to bloom. As the weeks pass, more flowers will add a riot of colour to her huge, thriving garden. More decoration on another side of the room. The framed picture (third photo) is made of dried petals and leaves.

This picture is a window view from the eating area in my house. I usually keep some potted plants there. Right now marigolds are blooming. I’m still working on this area and hope to add more attractive plants in the coming months.

To see more Blooming Friday posts about plants on the windowsill, please visit Katarina at
ROSES AND STUFF

You might be tickled pink to see snow on my blog:D If I can’t have the real stuff, at least I can use what WordPress has showered on our pages!;)))

Thank you for stopping by today. I hope you have a great Friday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Blooming Friday:On The Windowsill

  1. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Smita’s dried flower swag is beautiful. I love your window and pots also. Wishing you a very nice weekend.

  2. Madame C says:

    Windowsill or not – your pictures and decorations are lovely!
    Have a great weekend,
    Charlotta

  3. Elu says:

    Your friends dry flowers of has survived so many seasons—-late spring,summer,monsoon,autumn and now winter. Looks like it will still look presentable for a long time.What a wonderful reminder of her daughter as a bride !

  4. mia says:

    If I had had your warmer climate I guess my pots would be outside the windows aswell, looks really charming with your marigolds πŸ™‚

  5. lotusleaf says:

    Smita’s dried flowers are still looking gorgeous. She must be a talented person .

  6. AngelPearls says:

    Love the flower-pots in your ‘window’ -and the butterfly is soo cute too!! Eva

  7. easygardener says:

    I hope you are enjoying your “virtual” snow πŸ™‚
    Nice that your friend’s flower decorations lasted longer than expected. They look very attractive even when dried.
    Have a lovely weekend.

  8. Kanak the dry flowers are so pretty and they do look very “Christmasy” to me. Lovely snow flakes you got, I would love to have some too.
    But I got them live just outside my door. It has been snowing the whole day long.

    Tyra

  9. Amazing arrangements! And the butterfly is really cute.

  10. Diana says:

    Kanak, I love the flowers in Smita’s room… a wonderful dimension added, and such a lovely window view for your dining

  11. Hey. it’s snowing in Smita’s house!! Ha ha!! I am a follower of Smita! Her house is as artful and tastefully done as her food is!! Is that how you found me, through her? You are friends and live close? How cool! Now I thought she had a little daughter, the one in her profile picture. She has a grown one as well? She looks so very young! It looks like a skipper on the flower, a good shot!!

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, it’s not the blogger Smita. If I’m right she’s from Mumbai but my friend is from Guwahati. Same name so you must’ve thought about the one who visits you often. Glad you liked the skipper!

  12. AnnCharlotte says:

    The decoration is lovely πŸ˜‰
    i guess we have a lot of flowers inside the window due to the wintwr climate ;)))
    Have a nice weekwnd ,)

  13. Stephanie says:

    I really like the frame of dried leaves and petals! Smita has a talent in decor and handicraft πŸ˜€ Love how she uses dried flowers and leaves to decorate her house. What a wonderful home!

  14. I should have known that you don’t need to keep potted plants on windowsills – you’ve got so many adorable plants on the outside! It’s different in my part of the world, especially at this time of year when it’s all dark and cold outside.

  15. Gela says:

    Smita’s dried flowers are still looking gorgeous I think. Lovely pictures, have a nice sunday!/gela

Leave a Reply

