Time For Tomatoes!

Photo taken in February this year

It’s tomato time for us here. Every year I sow the seeds towards the end of November or early December. This year I started a little early because the rains in October did not wreak havoc in my yard. All that slush takes time to dry up before any planting can be done. But I’m happy that the soil remained decently dry.

Photo taken on the 20th of November

This year I sowed the seeds early in an old washtub. There’s no space for all the plants in my little narrow patch so I gave away some to my neighbour.   It’s a ritual that we perform every year.:) And it’s not just the tomatoes but with other plants as well.

A typical February scene on the western part of my house

A little caterpillar on one of the dying leaves

I must have posted the photo of my tomato patch earlier. You can see from the photo how narrow it is but I fill up the space and I’m happy with the produce. Enough for my kitchen and also for a few friends and my closest relatives. In other areas, I usually have a few cherry tomato plants. The cherry tomatoes are re-seeders in most gardens and really do not need much care. These tomatoes last till May…of course  the numbers dwindle by mid-April. And with the rains that come in early summer, it’s time to say goodbye to a yearly phase in my garden’s life. For the rest of the year, I buy fresh tomatoes from the markets. I don’t know how their plants survive but I’m happy with this period of  tomato time in my small garden.

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Time For Tomatoes!

  1. lotusleaf says:

    Kanak, your tomatoes look luscious. Whenever I get tomatoes from my garden, there is a glut in the market and farmers will be throwing truckloads of tomatoes on the highway!
    Your garden looks pretty full. Have you tried vertical gardening?

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks, Padma. No, I haven’t tried vertical gardening. but it’s a wonderful option I can look into…later. Thanks for mentioning it…I’ll check out pictures online to get inspired.:)

  2. Andrea says:

    kanak, it’s good you still have the indeterminate tomatoes so they will grow taller and fits the small space. I am amzed that little space which normally are just devoted to some ornamental greens turned very productive for the kitchen. Good job Kanak, hahaha! I pity though the little caterpillar, looks like its mother failed in determining which leaves will last longer for food.

    • kanak7 says:

      Andrea, more than twenty plants fit there. When the plants are tiny I also make use of the space by sowing coriander seeds. There’s nothing like freshly-picked herbs as a final garnish to the meals that I cook!:) About the caterpillar…I don’t know what happened. Wish I had followed its progress.

  3. I love the green tomato picture! The southerners here make fried green tomatoes, have you ever had them?

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, thanks! Sometimes I add green tomatoes to the dishes that I make but I do prefer the ripe ones. Thanks for reminding me about southern fried tomatoes. No, I’ve not had them but I checked out the recipes now. Sounds yummy and once the green ones come up , I’ll be having them the southern way!!

  4. jo©o says:

    Rub it in, why don’t you?
    There’s us under feet of snow and too chicken to go out in it, and then you daintily sowing seeds. Not fair 🙂

  5. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, What lovely plants you have and how wonderful to share with family/friends. John, especially, loves tomatoes. I enjoy the cherry tomatoes in salads. Hope you have a wonderful day.

  6. Susie says:

    Love seeing tomatoes growing this time of the year in someone elses garden. This a.m. we’re expecting snow. So far, none though.

  7. Bom says:

    Those are gorgeous tomatoes!

    BTW, congratulations on your new blog!

  8. HI ,
    I”m a Photography admirer and hobbyist.i like photography and trying to learn more.currently. I’m running a blog on photography (http://picxy.blogspot.com) which has very unique photos which are very genuine.its a non profit blog without any ads.i liked you blog so i added ur blogs link on my blog.in my home page.so that even my readers visit ur blog..i would also like to build a healthy blogging relation.

    please add my link in your blog,it would be beneficial to both of us and also our readers
    contact me

    coolprince.rox@gmail.com

    1)Http://picxy.blogspot.com
    2)Fan page – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Picxy-Pro-Photography/159632924051422

    You can check out the quality and the contents of my blog.please reply at the earliest.

    waiting for your reply.

  9. wendy says:

    I’m always amazed at the lush greenery you have where you are. In our climate it takes either close planting (not good) or years to have a full lush garden.
    Hope your tomatoes are as good as they look!

    • kanak7 says:

      Wendy…they usually are. It’s just that here the seed packets will only say “tomatoes’ and no sign of any cultivar being mentioned. At best they might mention “hybrid”. But the lushness takes only about two months…with the tomato plants, I mean. It’s a period I look forward to every year. I can’t imagine what would happen to me if the garden/growth were to come to a stop during winter!!!

  10. SandyCarlson says:

    I love the fragrance of tomatoes. They are all about summer. Beautiful post!

  11. Cyren says:

    Hi Kanak!

    I love tomato plants (although I’m not a big fan of the tomato vegetable myself) but the problem with tomato gardening for me is well, we seem to be infested by a plague of white, furry insects that are almost impossible to get rid off! I’ve taken to procuring ladybirds to control the pest problem but I’ve yet to see any significant results.

    On the other hand, that “caterpillar” on the leaf was in fact not a caterpillar but a butterfly chrysalis. Why don’t you take it in for the winter and keep it warm in a container. It should hatch only in the summer and then you will have some more awesome butterflies to photograph! 😀

    • kanak7 says:

      Cyren, I’ve heard about tomato plants being infested but so far mine has remained pest-free. (Touch wood!) As for the caterpillar, I wasn’t too sure…I remember that it was there but I didn’t bring it inside. That was in February. I’ll keep an eye on my plants now for such instars. Thanks!

  12. One says:

    Wow! You have a whole row of tomatoes? How do you keep them upright? Do you have insects bothering them apart from caterpillars?

  13. hello.please reply via email.or add a contact form please so that people can contact you

  14. birdy says:

    Wonderful post, remind me of my tomatoes seeds, which I have already bought, but didn’t sow them till date due to my laziness. Probably you have moderate temperature in February, that’s why you have such big plant of tomatoes in February. Here we sow seeds in November and cover the seedlings with plastic sheet to protect them from extreme cold and frost. The seedlings are transplanted in mid February.

    • kanak7 says:

      Birdy, our temperature is usually pleasant. The coldest is about 12* so there’s never any damage to plants. November to February is indeed a long time. But that kind of cold…that’s difficult.

  15. Sunita says:

    Oh lovely! Kanak, that’s a lot of tomatoes you have growing for you. This year we struck by unseasonal rains in November which killed off quite a bit of our ‘winter’ crop. I’m starting all over again now.

Leave a Reply

