Family Time!

It’s the season to meet and spend time together. Busy time of the year! My son’s home (from Delhi) for nearly two weeks so his cousins and friends have been coming over. Sleepovers (for my son) and bonfire nights (for all of us) have been the order of our much-loved but short-lived winter season. The bonfire nights will continue well into January.Photo above shows my sister’s daughters with my son in our living room.

I’ve been using a lot of flowers and candles…the only time of the year that we can use them, the candles, I mean. The vase holds flowers from my garden. I teamed up two kinds of mums with asparagus fern. Sadly, this camera isn’t all that night-friendly. Below is the day-time photo of the chrysanthemum in my front yard.

My sis, nephew, and nieces. I’m second from left, clad in purple! My younger son is out of town and my husband hadn’t arrived home. All these pictures were taken about three hours ago. I usually don’t post people pictures but it’s the end of the year and I might as well include some of them! 🙂

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Family Time!

  1. Did you know it’s snowing on your flowers?? You have a great and festive background with snow coming down! Well, post more people pictures, you and your your family are beautiful!!! And I finally get to see what you look like and your handsome son! I think it helps bloggers to be closer when they can visualize what we look like as they read our posts.

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, that is so true! At least we know who we’re interacting/sharing with! And I’m glad you wanted to see how I look like…at least I’ve posted people pictures!!! Thank you so much for your words.

  2. Titania says:

    Dear Kanak, it is nice to meet you and some of your family face to face. In the holidays the children bring back a lot of life into the home.It is always such a nice time to participate in their frolics. Is the little boy the baby of the family? The Chrysanthemums are beautiful. I love this pinkish salmon colour. I grow some, dark red and yellow and I am always amazed how well they do in the warm or hot climate.
    Kanak, Happy New year, all my best wishes. I am looking forward to your great, interesting blogposts in 2011. Trudi xo

    • kanak7 says:

      Trudi…thank you so much! Yes, the little boy is the youngest of the brood. All my siblings’ children are older, the oldest being my son at 19.

      I’ll check out your mums…glad you liked this colour. Thanks once again Trudi. I’d love to read all your blogposts too in the coming year. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  3. Andrea says:

    hello Kanak, i’m glad to meet you and your family. However, maybe you misplaced your label, hehe! As the one clad in purple is 2nd to the right!

  4. lotusleaf says:

    Hey Kanak! Nice to meet you and your good looking family. Wish you all a happy and healthy New Year.
    Padma

  5. Mildred says:

    I agree that it is wonderful for you to share these photos of yourself and family. I know you are all enjoying time together. That pink crysanthemum is outstanding!

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Mildred. Ever since the “season” started it’s been a whirlwind of outings and dinners. A winter picnic is a must but we haven’t got around to that…yet!;))

  6. Linda says:

    Happy New Year Kanak!!!!
    I wish al the best for you in the new year!
    The mum was soo beautiful!
    And I love to se photos of you!

  7. One says:

    Hi! You have beautiful flowers and I love your arrangement with ferns. I have an almost similar wooden antique car. I don’t usually post pictures of ourselves too but I am glad you did. In the local language, ‘kanak’ means child so I kind of imagined you to be in a different age group. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • kanak7 says:

      One…ha, ha! See if I hadn’t posted a picture of myself, you wouldn’t have known my age group either!! Glad you mentioned the flowers and the car. That car was bought at the Hornbill Festival, the biggest festival of the north-eastern region. So ‘kanak’ means child…In Hindi, it means “gold”. Thanks for stopping by. Happy New Year to you and yours!

  8. Elu says:

    Nice to see you all.In Sanskrit “Kanak” means “Lotus”, considered the purest flower.And to come upon a Brahmakamal (Kamal is another Sanskrit word for Lotus) is considered to be equivalent to have a glimpse of Brahmalok.

  9. Gunilla says:

    Nice to see your family on photo.

    I drop by and Whish you all the best in the New Year.

    Gunilla

  10. How lovely to see your family Kanak! I hope you enjoy the holidays together! You look great in purple!

  11. islandgal246 says:

    Nice to meet you Kanak and family. Now I can put a face to your blog LOL.

Leave a Reply

