The Hot, The Loud, And The Proud

Welcome to The Hot, The Loud, And The Proud!  This is the last post of 2010!  I’m showing my small garden…a garden of a strip of soil here and there! Although I crib about the space, I still tend to fill it up with flowers, and more flowers! Red  Bleeding Hearts/Clerodendrum speciosum near my gate next to white and pink bougainvillea.

I hope this red Dianthus will soon spill over the pot!

A tiny space near the front gets direct sunlight only in the afternoons. My welcome feature consists of terracotta duck-shaped planters, a fish, pebbles, rocks and ferns on a tree stump. You can see some of the greenery reflected on the window pane.

Remember my tomato patch? Well, the strip continues right up to the front yard and I’ve filled up another strip with dahlias on the right and assorted plants on the left. On the far left you can see some potted cockscomb plants. Here’s a close shot below.

More plants on the left ‘strip’. An old wooden frame holds small pots of plants.

Purple salvia blooms in a tiny patch.

The marigolds  that I started from seed are beginning to bloom next to the guava tree.

Another kind of clerodendrum (C. splendens) that blooms in winter has hundreds of red buds!

Blood red hibiscus buds.

A kind of self-seeding salvia that I picked up from the wild blooms most part of the year.

December sunset as seen from our terrace. And below, coriander that I sowed between the tomato spaces are ready to be used for garnish.

I hope you’ve enjoyed going through these images. My space is more of utility rather than aesthetics but some day I hope to make it attractive by using ideas that I see on all your beautiful blogs. As the year ends I hope I’ll always be inspired by the gardens that I visit and that every passing year there’ll be an additional feature that might come from one of yours! Provided that it doesn’t take up a lot of space!!

To see blooms and gardens around the world, please head over to Noel Morata’s  A Plant fanatic In Hawaii.

Thank you for stopping by. Wish you a wonderful 2011!!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Hot, The Loud, And The Proud

  1. Linda says:

    When you grow tomatos in India… do you grow them in ful sun or in shade?
    In sweden the tomatos mostly are grown in greenhouses!
    Some of them you can grow in a sunny spot without wind.
    I find that my father, that lives in Thailand have hard time to get them to grow.
    Linda

  2. Beautiful plants! I love the blood red hibiscus bud and the salvia. Is that a bright red gate?? I would like to see more of it, it’s so pretty and bright, and unusual as well.

  3. Titania says:

    Kanak, I like your entrance it looks beautiful. All the “redheads” look spectacular, echo the lacquer red gate, very pretty. I think you have a wonderfully interesting garden, it is nice to see glimpses of it.

  4. Mildred says:

    I always enjoy your lovely photos Kanak. Daddy loved salvia and mama loved cockscomb. Once my brother cut down the cockscomb thinking it was a weed!! oh no!
    I wish you and your family love, peace and health in the new year.

  5. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kana! Your garden is very pretty and full of unusual plants. I like purple salvia.Happy New Year!

  6. Beautiful hot colors Kanak! Could use them now in the cold we are experiencing. Lovely post!

  7. arati says:

    the reds are striking!

Leave a Reply

