Today’s Flowers~ Chinese Gentian

I’m so happy to be able to share these pictures today. My friend Smita has sent them to me so  I could post them on my blog. These were taken in October on her way to the mountainous region of Arunachal Pradesh. Chinese gentian or fall gentian blooming on the mountains of Arunachal.

The mountainsides were so beautiful that Smita says it was  as if someone had splashed colour on the mountains and there were splashes of yellows, and reds, and blues all across the mountain. What a spectacular sight that must have been!

The Chinese gentian/Gentiano sino-ornata is a ground-hugging perennial plant from China and Sikkim where it grows in wet ground, the flowers exhibiting a range of colour from royal blue to purple blue and interspersed with greenish-yellow bands. Chinese gentians die back each winter. Growth commences in early spring and the developing leafy stems, often branched can reach a length of 9-10″ often rooting along their length. Each root tip has a solitary funnel-shaped flower about 2” long. Gentians are thought to be named after Gentius, king of Illyria (present day Albania) who was the first to use this plant medicinally. Source.

To see more beautiful flowers from all over the world, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Denise-Pupo-Sandy Carlson

Hope you have a great Sunday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Today’s Flowers~ Chinese Gentian

  1. Benieh says:

    Such a stunning flower! It really is a lovely perennial. I can imagine how wonderful it must look in huge patches over the hillsides.

  2. ShySongbird says:

    What a beautiful and striking colour they are! I love Smita’s description of ‘colour splashed on the mountains’.

    We have the Early Gentian here which is unique to England and quite scarce so therefore a protected species.

  3. lotusleaf says:

    Stunning images! I have seen this flower in Sikkim, but I didn’t know the name.

  4. Mildred says:

    Thanks to you and Smita for sharing these beauties and for describing the memory of the splashes of color on the landscape.

  5. This flower is a great color blue. It is rarely grown here due to availability.

  6. These are stunning, Kanak: blue flowers are my favourites! Happy new year!

  7. Autumn Belle says:

    Chinese gentians are very unusual and unique in colour and shape. I have never seen them before. Happy New Year 2011!

  8. Carver says:

    The flowers are very lovely. Happy New Year.

  9. Rose says:

    Such a pretty bloom!

    My Entry, happy new year!

  10. Sharmila says:

    i agree … these are awesome !! n mostly all wild flowers esp. those tiny plants which grow on the surface of the ground.

  11. These are just stunning!! I don’t think i’ve seen any before. i wonder why Smita does not start a second blog, as she takes so many good pictures. think I’ll ask her. The two of you are professional photographers!!

  12. SandyCarlson says:

    Very, very beautiful.

  13. Titania says:

    This is a beautiful gentian. It looks a bit different from the ones we gathered as children in the swiss alps. A very small version grew in the meadows which we called “Tintenbluemli” little ink flowers!
    Your photos brought lots of memories. We also stuck them into fir cones.
    Now they are protected and it is not allowed anymore to gather Gentian.
    The “Schnaps” which is made from the gentian roots is very potent, good for an upset stomach, but not to much!

  14. Stephanie says:

    Love the deep and attractive shade of this blue. I can imagine that the real bloom to be very pretty. Thanks for posting Kanak and Smita! Enjoy the magnificent view of the mountainous region.

  15. vasi says:

    Foarte frumoase flori!
    La multi ani!

  16. Que lindas flores azuis! Obrigada por compartilhar! Feliz ano novo!

  17. malar says:

    Chinese Gentians have really beautiful flowers!

  18. ynotlas says:

    I stumbled across your blog while researching investments in commodities. What an odd coincidence! However, I really liked the pictures. Does your friend Smita have more pictures of the “splashes of yellows, and reds, and blues all across the mountain?”

  19. Smita says:

    Hi Kanak
    I finally visited your site. You write so beautifully, but I already knew that, even before I met u , through your “middles” in the newspapers here . The kind comments made by your friends are most inspiring, and I would definitely like to share more experiences with you. More after my trip to Myanmar
    Smita

  20. Stunning, it has this remarkable colour. I would love to have it in my garden.

    xoxo Tyra

Leave a Reply

