Today’s Flowers/Cosmos

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! The other day, I headed off to the local Cultural Centre to see what was blooming. And I wasn’t disappointed!  Although many of the annuals are only just beginning to bloom, the cosmos was well into it and attracting a lot of visitors! Both humans and the winged kinds. The word Cosmos comes from the Greek for balanced universe.

Every part of the plant looks delicate but in spite of its fragile appearance, the plant can withstand strong wind and rain. Looks can be deceptive!

Although I’m not sure about the cultivars, Cosmos bipinnatus is the most commonly grown variety reaching to a height of 90-120 cms and producing a profusion of single-petalled blooms in pink, white and crimson. They are part of the Asteraceae family that includes sunflowers and daisies, and there are over 20 varieties. This tropical American native is  grown all across the world.

Those fine thin lines! That delicious shade of pink!!

Most of the yellow tufted centres had a winged visitor.

Growing in the sunniest spots in the large grounds, it was a joy to see these blooms in all these colours. To see the most beautiful flowers from across the planet, please visit http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli- Denise- Pupo-Sandy Carlson

Hope you have a wonderful Sunday!!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Cosmos

  1. We have grown Cosmos before, and like them. they have a fairly long bloom time, and you are right, though tall and seemingly spindly, they withstand lots that other flowers don’t. I LOVE your bee!!

  2. arati says:

    beautiful flowers, kanak! i especially love the think pink stripes – havent seen that one before. And yes, seldom have i seen a bunch of cosmos without the bees around!

  3. jo©o says:

    Cosmos…..only a far-off dream for us.
    Lovely to see yours.

  4. Benieh says:

    So, so lovely! I’ve grown them previously but I think I’ll definitely have to grow some again this year … your photos have reminded me just how beautiful they are! Lovley shots!

  5. Autumn Belle says:

    I love these cosmos in pinks and whites. I never get tired of looking at them.

  6. Linda says:

    They are so pretty!
    I grow them sometimes….
    Linda

  7. Mildred says:

    I think these are so whimsical swaying in the slightest breeze and the colors are so vibrant. Enjoy your day!

  8. vasi says:

    Iubesc florile acestea, am si eu in gradina. Sunt fragile, dar puternice, in acelasi timp.

  9. Nice collection of Cosmos. I like the pink shaded one.

  10. Stephanie says:

    These cosmos are so pretty. How wonderful! This plant certainly has its own way to survive the wind. I love your second pic!

  11. One says:

    Oh! What beautiful photos! I only have the yellow variety. The white and pink go very well together and they look absolutely outstanding in the second photo against the blue sky.

  12. Lotusleaf says:

    I love cosmos flowers. Thanks for the interesting bits of info about them. Your shots are beautiful!

  13. Very very beautiful flower pictures…
    Love the colors so much 🙂

  14. Just lovely shots! I love the cosmos and have plenty of them in my garden.

  15. Rose says:

    So pretty!

    My Flower entry, have a blessed Sunday!

  16. Modern Mom says:

    Wonderful shots. I love the mix of colors in the last photo.

    My entry.

  17. Dew Drops says:

    Beautiful flowers, and they make a good profusion of colour in the garden.

  18. Randy Emmitt says:

    Kanak,

    I have visited the North Carolina Mountains and found plantings of these same Cosmos that looked like a sea of Cosmos floating across the meadow. The orange Cosmos will drop seeds and the seedlings will bloom with the parent plants.

  19. joey says:

    Beautiful post, Kanak … I love a sea of cosmos!

  20. Que linda plantação de cosmos! Gostei também do texto informativo!

  21. Arija says:

    I love the old fashioned Cosmos. Mine are flowering just now as well.

  22. Beautiful flowers 🙂 they look so good.i really enjoyed checking the pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

