The Bottlebrush Tree

The Bottlebrush trees have been blooming for a while in many of the gardens here. I snapped this  on one of my many visits to the local Cultural Centre. The bottlebrush trees belong to the Callistemon genus of shrubs in the Myrtaceae family. The majority of bottlebrush plants are endemic to Australia. The blooms attract a lot of birds and insects. If you click on this picture, you’ll see a bee (bottom, extreme right) hidden amidst the blooms.

The height of the trees vary from 6′ to 15′. The name comes from the shape of the blooms closely resembling brushes with spiky bristles. Although red is the colour that is seen around here, there are species with white, yellow, and orange blooms.

Did you know that these ‘brushes’ are used for making miniature Christmas trees? Here’s a link that say how. http://www.ehow.com/how_7488571_make-bottle-brush-tree.html

The flower spikes of the bottlebrush form in spring and summer and are made up of a number of individual flowers. Each flower produces a small woody fruit containing hundreds of tiny seeds. These fruits form in clusters along the stem and remain so for many years.

A drongo on the sweeping branches.

This small tree is an attractive addition to any garden. Provided that the garden has enough space. There is also a species of bottlebrush that is one-sided. Here’s a link that you might find interesting….http://anpsa.org.au/c-qua.html

Thank you for stopping by.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Bottlebrush Tree

  1. Linda says:

    I love that flower!
    I have seen it in Thailand!
    But I have never seen it as a large tree!

  2. Mildred says:

    I love these trees. It’s fun to see the bee and the bird in your photos.

  3. I don’t think we have any of these around here! And I do see the hidden bee! Very unusual facts!

  4. ShySongbird says:

    Hi Kanak 🙂 We have the Bottlebrush here in the UK, they are so colourful. I don’t have one in my garden but they really are very attractive.

  5. Andrea says:

    Hi Kanak, bottlebrush is not common here in the country, but we have one tree in the university grounds where i studied. Even if we dont have the seasons you mentioned, it also flowers once a year though not plenty as in your photo. But i really love that plant. I havent seen other colors here but in NSW, where a lot of colors and sizes are available. Bottlebrush for me looks like small banksia.

  6. islandgal246 says:

    Hello Kanak,

    I have seen a dwarf variety in Florida and was wondering how big “dwarf” was. I love these trees and I have one growing in my garden. I love the weeping type as well.

  7. Lotusleaf says:

    Lovely images! The bottlerush blooms in spring and autumn here. They are waiting for the spring here!

  8. Arija says:

    Ours hese flowered a few weeks earlier. They are so pretty and the honeyeaters absolutely love them.

    Thank you for your comment, it made me aware that the dratted automatic recognition system had entered the wrong title, it was meant to be a SkyWatch post!

    So nice to hear from you. How are your boys?

  9. One says:

    I’ve been eying this for sometime. We have the red and the yellow one around. They are grown by the developer. I like the willowy look of this tree. Are you growing one? It’s really beautiful.

  10. aerie-el says:

    Beautiful blooms! And the bird is one I haven’t heard of before.

  11. Você trouxa informações interessante, além de lindas fotos! A flor se parece mesmo con escovas!

  12. J Bar says:

    Beautiful shots.

  13. joey says:

    I so enjoy your beautiful posts, Kanak 🙂

  14. Stephanie says:

    This is a beautiful tree! Love the red brushes. You captured them really well 😉

Leave a Reply

